Nils Lofgren - Acoustic Live


Analogue Productions



Product No.:
UPC: 753088009068
In Stock

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Hybrid Stereo SACD
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record
Vinyl Box Sets
45 RPM 180 Gram 4 LP Box Set

Recorded originally at 44.1kHz/16-bit

Remastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound

"If ever there was a rock guitarist who deserves the epithet 'journeyman,' it is Lofgren, with a CV that includes stints with Neil Young, Ringo Starr and Bruce Springsteen, and 25 solo releases. This one from 1977 endeared him to the audiophile community, which has always loved his homage to Keith Richards, 'Keith Don't Go.' It's here with 16 other self-penned tunes from throughout his career, with completely unplugged backing save for a synth played by brother Tom. Overall, it's a joyous picture of his oeuvre up to that point. Sonically? Acoustic guitar is a great test for a system, and this is as good as live gets, with plenty of atmosphere." — Sound Quality = 91% - Ken Kessler, HiFi News, May 2017

Guitarist and singer-songwriter Nils Lofgren in 1997 released a small treasure for longtime fans. Acoustic Live captures Lofgren alone in front of an appreciative audience, knocking out such favorites as "You," "No Mercy" and "Keith Don't Go," plus six new songs. Even with the new songs, there are no real revelations, only a selection of little gems that will put a smile on your face as you listen.

Yes, this is a digital recording. True to our company principles, Analogue Productions in almost all cases reissues recordings only where the analog master tape is available. However, there are rare exceptions that whether digitally recorded or otherwise, a recording is so outstanding it's worthy of the highest quality reissue.

Along with his work as a solo artist, Lofgren has marked more than 25 years as a member of Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band as well as a former member of Crazy Horse and Grin. Lofgren joined Neil Young's band in 1968 at age 17, playing piano on the album After the Gold Rush. Lofgren would maintain a close musical relationship with Young, appearing on his Tonight's the Night album and tour among others. He was also briefly a member of Crazy Horse, appearing on their 1971 LP and contributing songs to their catalogue. From '71 to '74 Lofgren was active in Grin, the band he founded in '69. Solo albums and tours followed every year through the 1970s as Lofgren established himself as a top guitarist and live performer earning the respect and acclaim of his peers. Bruce Springsteen made the call in 1984 and Lofgren joined the E-Street Band for the Born in the USA tour. Lofgren was an instant hit with Springsteens fans through his playing and vibrant on stage persona. Lofgren remains a stalwart of the E-Street Band to the present day.

"Acoustic Live is an interesting and charming album from Nils Lofgren in 1997 as he follow on in the Unplugged tradition that became popular in the 1990s. It was actually recorded at The Barns Of Wolftrap, Vienna in Virginia on January 18th, 1997." —


1. You
2. Sticks and Stone
3. Some Must Dream
4. Little On Up
5. Keith Don’t Go
6. Wonderland
7. Big Tears Fall
8. Believe
9. Black Books
10. To Your Heart
11. Man In The Moon
12. I’ll Arise
13. Blue Skies
14. Tears On Ice
15. All Out
16. Mud In Your Eye
17. No Mercy

Customer Reviews (3.75 Stars) 4 person(s) rated this product.

Better than vinyl!!!

posted on 06/01/2021
5 Stars
Better than any vinyl release

Vinyl Sounds much better

posted on 05/13/2016
3 Stars
Music is 5*. The SACD is okay but the Vinyl sounds much better.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.