John Lennon - Walls And Bridges

180-gram vinyl

• Remastered in 2010 from the original analogue tapes by Yoko Ono and a team of engineers from Abbey Road Studios in London and Avatar Studios in New York. These remasters are now being released on vinyl for the very first time!

The careful burnishing of John Lennon's daunting legend usually obscures one telling fact: The former Beatle endured a long and troubling artistic slump in the mid-'70s. Indeed, his five-year retirement/house husband phase may have been one of the shrewdest career moves he ever made. Cut in Los Angeles during his "Lost Weekend" — an 18-month separation from Yoko Ono (June 1973-January 1975), Walls and Bridges was a Billboard No. 1 album and a hit single maker.

"Whatever Gets You Through the Night," Lennon's boisterous collaboration with Elton John, scored him his first No. 1 record as a solo artist, and compelling tracks like "Steel and Glass," "Going Down on Love," and "#9 Dream" belie the artistic genius Lennon was literally drowning in copious rounds of Brandy Alexanders during the period.

Side 1
1. Going Down On Love
2. Whatever Gets You Thru The Night
3. Old Dirt Road
4. What You Got
5. Bless You
6. Scared

Side 2
7. #9 Dream
8. Surprise Surprise (Sweet Bird Of Paradox)
9. Steel And Glass
10. Beef Jerky
11. Nobody Loves You (When You’re Down And Out)
12. Ya Ya

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it