Van Halen - Van Halen






Product No.:
ARHI 547642
UPC: 081227955250
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

180-gram vinyl reissue!

Mastered from the original analog tapes by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering!

Van Halen reinvented the sound of hard rock in 1978 with its influential and wildly successful eponymous debut album and then achieved even greater success six years later with 1984. Both albums would define a generation while selling more than 10 million copies each in the U.S. alone to earn diamond-certification from the RIAA. The band recently went back to the original analog tapes and remastered both of these landmark albums — Van Halen and 1984 — which are now also set for release on March 30, 2015 through Warner Bros. Records.

Considered one of the greatest debut albums in rock history, Van Halen took the music world by storm in 1978 with an 11-song manifesto that features some of rock radio's most played songs of all time and scorching concert staples like "Runnin' With The Devil," "Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love," "Jamie's Cryin'," the band's signature cover of The Kinks' "You Really Got Me," and Eddie Van Halen's finger-tapping tour de force, "Eruption." Six years and five albums later, Van Halen had become one of the biggest bands in the world around the release of 1984, which includes a number of the band's most legendary songs such as the No. 1 hit, "Jump," "Panama," and "Hot For Teacher."

Mastering engineer Chris Bellman, who remastered the original albums for Bernie Grundman Studios, Hollywood, CA, was enlisted for these new versions. In order to produce the original sound the band intended, Bellman cut straight from the quarter-inch tapes for CD; for 180-gram vinyl; and for the digital version. Newly mastered versions of Diver Down, Women and Children First, Van Halen II and Fair Warning are also being cut for each format and will be available soon.

"They still sound vital, surprising, and ultimately fun — and really revolutionary, because no other band rocked like this before Van Halen, and it's still a giddy thrill to hear them discover a new way to rock on this stellar, seminal debut." — AllMusic

• 180-gram vinyl
• Mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Studios
• Mastered from the original analog tapes


Side 1
1. Runnin’ With The Devil
2. Eruption
3. You Really Got Me
4. Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love
5. I’m The One

Side 2
6. Jamie’s Cryin’
7. Atomic Punk
8. Feel Your Love Tonight
9. Little Dreamer
10. Ice Cream Man
11. On Fire

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 2 person(s) rated this product.

Best These Songs Have Sounded

posted on 03/30/2024
5 Stars
I have never heard another version on vinyl; this sounds so good I do not feel the need to find another. Definitely recommend.


posted on 05/25/2023
5 Stars
I haven’t heard an original, but to my ears this sounds great. Crisp treble, good soundstage, doesn’t sound compressed or digital. Good mastering.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.