Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Eva Cassidy - American Tune


Blix Street Records


Female Vocalists

Product No.:
ABLX 10179
UPC: 739341017988
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Core Eva Cassidy recordings released on vinyl for the first time!

Blix Street Records presents the release of five 180-gram vinyl Eva Cassidy albums plus the simultaneous release of a collector's boxset. Eva's seminal, UK No.1, x6 platinum-selling Songbird album, unavailable in vinyl form for eight years, returns to the European marketplace in re-sequenced and re-mastered form. The remaining four albums, available on vinyl for the very first time, have similarly been re-sequenced from their CD counterparts to maximize the audio quality. The platinum U.K. No. 1 albums Imagine and American Tune accompany the gold-selling albums Time After Time and Somewhere.

Cassidy, whose pure, powerful voice caused a collective spontaneous reaction around the world that she did not live to witness, continues to touch her millions of fans, more than seven years after her death on Nov. 2, 1996 from melanoma at the age of 33. Cassidy remains an international sensation. Fans hear a connection to heaven in her voice; critics praise her sensitivity, her superb interpretive skills, and her ability to sing anything with time-stopping beauty and grace.

"Eva Cassidy fans surely feel something akin to relief when another cache of tapes is opened for release. The singer's 1996 death at the age of 33, after all, rendered her output finite in the saddest and most frustrating way. American Tune's modus operandi is similar to previous Cassidy CDs in its mix of standard repertoire (here, everything from 'Yesterday' to 'God Bless the Child' and Ray Charles's 'Hallelujah I Love [Him] So' rubs shoulders) and fine, less obvious choices (Joe Simon's early-'70s soul hit 'Drowning in the Sea of Love'). The sometimes pedestrian backing does little to spoil the pleasure of Cassidy's pure tone and the surprises she's able to wring from the material — on the Charles tune, she even suggests a distaff Lyle Lovett. She'd no doubt be pleased to know that tracks uncovered at this point now sound like, well, notes from a missed, much-loved friend." —


Side 1
1. Drowning In The Sea Of Love
2. Dark Eyed Molly
3. The Water Is Wide
4. Hallelujah I Love Him So
5. God Bless The Child

Side 2
6. True Colors
7. It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)
8. American Tune
9. Yesterday
10. You Take My Breath Away

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it