Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 54 product(s) that are

Back Ordered

in the

Classical Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 54 Products
Claudio Abbado - Mozart: Piano Concertos Nos. 20 & 21/ Friedrich Gulda, pianist Product No: ADGR 2530548
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Deutsche Grammophon)

Fantastic Pressing

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 23, 2021 by ETKirsch I put this release on immediately after listening to another DG record and was really struck by the superiority of this release. Which got me wondering "why is this DG release so much better than the other DG release?" The answer: this is a third party reissue of a DG recording by Speakers Corner and boy, do they nail it.

Terrific imaging and sound stage, very little background noise, a great example of how beautiful vinyl can sound when properly manufactured. Also love Gulda's performance. Highly recommended.


Pablo Casals - Bach: The Cello Suites Product No: AWCL 573806
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Warner Classics

The real thing!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 8, 2021 by Anonymous Pablo Casals was an amazing musician and it shows in this historic recording! Pressings are dead quiet and the sound is amazing for such an early recording. Highly recommended.


Vikingur Olafsson - Bach: Piano Works & Reworks Product No: ADGR 89301
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Fine vinyl and nice interpretations

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 7, 2021 by O.D. Jones I have had some trepidation in ordering a recent DG record due to the Carlos Kleiber Beethoven 5th reissue being dirty and noisy right out of the sleeve. I can report that both records here are heavy and flat and, even before a wet vacuum cleaning, are quiet and perfectly fine. I have no idea who pressed the Kleiber reissue, but this current crop of DG vinyl is good quality. The sonics of this recording are open and atmospheric, and the performances worth delving into. One interesting note is the fact this pianist included performances of two pieces, the Busoni transcriptions, that the tragically short-lived Dinu Lipatti recorded in supernatural and sublime fashion in the early fifties. The Lipatti records are worth searching out as I don't think they've ever been out of print since they were first released, along with an astonishing Ravel piece recorded in I believe 1936 on shellac. This Vikingur Olafsson record is highly recommended and I would like to hear his Glass LP next.


David Abel/ Julie Steinberg - Debussy/Brahms/Bartok: Sonatas For Violin And Piano Product No: AAPC 8722
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Wilson Audiophile)

Great performance

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 14, 2020 by Mike I give this 5 stars for performance, timbre and enormous dynamics. I wish it had a little less background noise (even if it is an analogue recording) or is this surface noise, hence only 4 stars on hardware. My copy has a lot of statics also. But performance actually makes you ignore these side effects.


Viktoria Mullova - Mendelssohn: Violin Concertos/ Sir Neville Mariner Product No: APHI 43136
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogphonic (Philips)

Wonderful Mullova recording

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, February 26, 2020 by EricL This is the first release on vinyl of this recording of Mendelssohn's two violin concerts. Mullova recorded these with Sir Neville Marriner in 1990 in London. Though the recording is digital, it has plenty of warmth. If fact, it's one of the best sounding recordings of these works that I possess. Mullova's violin sound, very prominent , but not overbearing, is wonderfully wrought. So too is the sound of the orchestra. Though the highlight here is obviously the E minor concerto which Mullova skillfully executes, so too, is the D Minor Concerto enjoyable, one written by the composer at age 13! And the sound here is even more involving with Mullova slightly left of center and the lower strings on the right playing their hearts out.

The German pressing is flat, centered and perfectly quiet. When I listened to this recording late last night, I marveled that there were times like this that vinyl can sound so entrancing, so lovely and so believable


Janos Starker - Bach: Suites For Unaccompanied Cello Complete Product No: AAPC 3-9016-45
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Analogue Productions

Joy Joy Joy

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 18, 2020 by Anonymous Expensive yes; but worth every penny. The performance is incredible and the recording just as impeccable. Vinyl at its best! Music from a maestro. The moment the needle hits the record such wonderful music began playing. I have other cello high quality recordings but this one is superior by far.


Zubin Mehta - Mahler: Symphony No. 2/ Resurrection Product No: ADEC 83024
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Decca (Pro-Ject Audio)

Great

5 Stars
Posted Monday, January 27, 2020 by Anonymous Buy it before its gone.


Societa Corelli - Vivaldi: The Four Seasons Product No: AAPC 2424
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, December 8, 2019 by Anonymous


Hilary Hahn - 6 Partitas By Anton Garcia Abril Product No: ADEC 96001
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Decca

noisy

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, October 17, 2019 by Anonymous Very noisy pressing.


Smoke & Mirrors Percussion Ensemble - Smoke & Mirrors Percussion Ensemble Product No: AYAR 2522-45
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Yarlung

Impressive but too noisy

4 Stars
Posted Friday, September 6, 2019 by Mike Very nice performance, very dynamic and full of fine timbre! Surface or other noise too pronounced nothing I would have expected from such a modern analogue recording.


Erich Kunzel - Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture Product No: ATEL 00009
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Telarc

Absolutely unplayable - bad press!?

1 Stars
Posted Monday, August 19, 2019 by Mike I know this record very well and have had it in my collection before and played on much lower quality system what I have now (top Kuzma and Soundsmith). I know the cannons part on 1812 demands a lot of a system but it can't even be played at lower volumes as well as all tracks are totally distorted and unplayable. Wonder how many discs were pressed per stamp? So disappointed!


Interpreti Veneziani - Vivaldi: Four Seasons Product No: ACTD 001
Available: BackOrdered
Category: D2D Vinyl Record
Label: Chasing The Dragon

Top notch

5 Stars
Posted Monday, August 19, 2019 by Mike This smaller ensemble delivers the music in great style and recording just top SQ!


Ernest Ansermet - The Royal Ballet Gala Performances Product No: AAPC 6065-45
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 2, 2019 by Anonymous


Charles Munch, Boston Symphony Orchestra - The French Touch Product No: AAPC 2292
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Great new reissue

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 15, 2018 by EricL Analogue Productions has just released this 1959 recording with Charles Munch and the Boston Symphony Orchestra, one of the LS discs never issued by Classic Records. In terms of string tone, this was lauded as one of the top Living Stereos. As usual, the performance with Munch leading the BSO is wonderfully refined with very warm sound. AP did a superb job here mastered at Sterling. I don't have an original to compare, but I can't imagine it could be much better. The pressing is perfect, flat, centered and quiet with no ticks or pops on my copy. I think AP is running a streak here. Also the thick cardboard tip-on cover is beautifully reproduced and quite striking. Jonathan Valin's entry in the Living Stereo catalogue comments about a "weakish bass"on the original, but perhaps the reissue has improved things for I thought it was quite adequate. The Socerer's Apprentice on side one is perhaps the highlight though Ravel's Mother Goose suite on side one is also wonderful.


Sir Eugene Goossens - Stravinsky: Le Sacre du Printemps Product No: AEVC 3047-45
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Phenomenal

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 7, 2018 by Anonymous Listened to this on a pair of Wilson Sabrinas on Clearaudio Ovation (Cart uncertain of-I was auditioning Wilsons). Amazing. Pitch black background, record was super clean, QRP inner sleeves also seem to have upped their game (Thickness improved on the MoFi style inner sleeves used). Bernie Grundman, possibly the most well respected mastering engineer in the industry behind this reissue, which was mastering using Classic Records mastering chain before he greatly upgraded it for the ORG reissues, but still highly highly recommended for sound and music. Stravinsky is a master. Also highly rec the CR Stravinsky Firebird SVP 45s (3 discs), which you can purchase her on AS!


Stanislaw Skrowaczewski - Chopin: Concerto No. 1/ Rubinstein Product No: AAPC 2575
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Great

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, June 24, 2018 by Anonymous AP just keeps on rolling on. No ticks,pops, scratches to speak of. Great transfer to vinyl . Please do all the great Decca recordings. This is perfection. Thank You.


Robert Silverman - Chopin's Last Waltz Product No: AISM 5606
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: IsoMike

Pure artistry and pure recording.

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 12, 2018 by Anonymous Fantastic. Such a beautiful, heartfelt window into this music. The performance, the recording, and the pressing are so clean, and warm.


Al Di Meola, John McLaughlin & Paco DeLucia - Friday Night In San Francisco Product No: CSON 9637 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Sony Music Entertainment

Good album, excellent sound!

4 Stars
Posted Monday, September 4, 2017 by Stephen Bieth Yea I know this is sacrilege but I am not a huge fan of this record. I heard about it for years so I thought I would grab it while the SACD was still around. Remember me not being a huge fan is an opinion, most people consider this a legendary record. As for the SACD this sounds amazing. Nice full sound but no boomy bass or shrill highs. I don't have one negative comment about the mastering or transfer of this disc. If you are a fan of this album I don't see how you couldn't like it!


Krystian Zimerman - Chopin: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 Product No: ADGR 4796871
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Superb - DG at its very best

5 Stars
Posted Friday, March 10, 2017 by Jonathan DG's vinyl reissues of older recordings over the last couple of years have been of a uniformly high calibre, but this one takes things to a new level in the value of money stakes if nothing else. This is a beautifully presented gatefold double LP consisting of both Chopin piano concertos, exceeding 80 minutes of playing time. The late 1990s digital recording is truly excellent and ought to please even the most fastidious "analogphiles" - a testament to what digital recording was capable of even 18 years ago so long as you had a world-class classical engineer at the helm (Rainer Maillard). The performances are superb with the orchestra at the time specially chosen for the occasion by way of individual auditions of the players - all of them very high calibre musicians.

At just under $35 for this title, acquisition of this title should be a no-brainer for any classical vinyl collector and most particularly if you do not already possess performances of these works.


Georg Solti - Venice Product No: AAPC 2313
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA/DECCA Living Stereo)

Performances and Sound - Collection Worthy

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, February 2, 2017 by Anonymous The new AP version sounds excellent. Clarity, sound stage, and presentation are spot on. That said, for the first time in quite awhile, I did have to clean the LP in my RCM (it wasn't as quiet as most AP releases I receive, now it's just fine and quiet). I have a few versions including the original and Classic Records. The AP version is better sounding than the 180 gram Classic version and original. The sleeve packaging is very nice, however, the photo transfers have become more blurred over the years. The original has that wonderful Encyclopedia Britannica feel from the early 60s (that's gone unfortunately). Que Sera, the music survives!



Viewing 1 - 20 of 54 Products