Found 14 product(s) from the

Speakers Corner (Columbia)

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 14 of 14 Products
The Isley Brothers - The Heat Is On Product No: ACOL 33536
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Great sound

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 11, 2019 by Anonymous Compared this to CD release Sony Legacy 2001, this LP sounds smoother.The cymbals not as harsh and bright also Ernie's guitar sounds nice and smooth.

Also compared to original LP release. This new release has a bit more volume but not over done. There is more detail in the music. Cymbals are more present along with other instruments but at the perfect mix.


Bruno Walter - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 5 Product No: ACOL 6055
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Disappointed

1 Stars
Posted Friday, April 5, 2019 by Carlos E. Bauza The remaster has a huge Bass boost and apparent artificial reverberation. Midrange, such as Oboe sound is occasionally brittle. This is not saved by musical values because the interpretation is slow and plodding. Quite disappointed.


David Oistrakh - Sibelius:Violin Concerto/ Ormandy Product No: ACOL 6157
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

The jewel in the Speakers Corner Columbia crown

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 2, 2017 by Jonathan The Columbia classical reissues from Speakers Corner have uniformly been excellent, but this reissue is extraordinary. The performances are of course top notch, but what stands out even more with this reissue is the sound quality. This is amongst the very best classical recordings I have ever heard, regardless of label, with soundstaging, focus, clarity and air in abundance. The sound of the first violin section, for example, often relatively rough and uncouth sounding in this repertoire, is detailed and clear with extended frequency response, but also smooth sounding. The presence of quite noticeable tape hiss suggests that we are listening to a record made with no "intervention" or "improvement" at any time right from the original recording session through to the pressing of this reissue 55 years later. It certainly puts to complete and utter shame previous efforts over the last few decades to put this recording onto CD.


Glenn Gould - The Bach Keyboard Concertos Product No: ACOL 71449
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Gorgeous. Dramatic. Sorrowful. Euphoric.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 23, 2016 by Anonymous All that is Bach. I don't know what else to say. Music to get lost in? The older I become, the better I understand what the world lost when Glenn Gould passed. This is one to own for both performance and sound quality. Jeff


Bill Evans - The Bill Evans Album Product No: ACOL 30855
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Exquisite

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 23, 2016 by Anonymous Speakers corner certainly knows how to to hit home runs. Pressing is flawless. The music is Bill Evans... Otherworldly, ethereal, beautiful. A must have if you love the man and his music. Jeff


Leonard Bernstein - Bartok: Violin Concerto/ Stern Product No: ACOL 6002
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Brilliant Speakers Corner reissue

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 26, 2016 by Jonathan Speakers Corner began reissuing titles from the classical Columbia label some time ago. Each and every one of those releases has been superb in my opinion and this one is no exception. If anything, the sound on this release is as good as you are ever likely to hear from this particular label and it ranks amongst the very best I have ever heard in outright terms as well. It is wonderful to finally have some Isaac Stern recordings reissued by a fanatical audiophile vinyl record label. I doubt Isaac Stern has ever sounded so good and this recording certainly does justice to the quality of the source material used.I hope there are many more Columbia classical releases and I hope there is more Isaac Stern to follow. He is one of my favourite violinists and his material has been hitherto sadly neglected by the contemporary audiophile reissue labels until now.


Dave Brubeck Quartet - At Carnegie Hall Product No: ACOL 826
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

3 Stars
Posted Sunday, October 26, 2014 by Anonymous


Blue Oyster Cult - Secret Treaties Product No: ACOL 32858
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Speakers Corner vs. BOC

4 Stars
Posted Monday, September 29, 2014 by audiofan Like all the other SC vinyl I have purchased, this disc is perfectly quiet & flat. Compared to my near-mint Columbia original, this version has a slight (but noticeable) boost in high-frequency - those with a 'bright' system may find it a bit "hot" - but also reveals slightly more detail. I try to bypass the tone controls in my system; on both the original as well as this reissue, the main thing one notices is the (somewhat) anemic bass, which is apparently true to the master. Overall, I slightly prefer the Columbia original; the overall sound seems smoother with better balance, but let's face it...early '70s hard rock albums will probably never be 'demo' material. If you love BOC and can locate a clean Columbia pressing, then pass on this. Or buy this SC version & turn the treble down a bit. Now how about their debut?


Miles Davis - Miles Smiles Product No: ACOL 9401
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

This is the pressing to get

4 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 26, 2013 by CT0wens


Toto - Toto IV Product No: ACOL 37728
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Incredible Detail

5 Stars
Posted Monday, October 22, 2012 by Robert This pressing has revealed a lot more complexity than I have heard on other formats.


Johnny Cash - At San Quentin Product No: ACOL 9827
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Epic, authentic sound!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 12, 2012 by Steven McCornack This one was a double-whammy for me. First Johnny Cash LP, first Speakers Corner pressing. Read great things about SC over the years, and was NOT disappointed. Clean and flat vinyl (no annoying warpage), nicely packaged in anti-stat sleeve. Dropping my Grado Statement stylus onto the leadin groove, WOW! HUGE, spacious, open sound. Voice clear, clean, and rich (and WHAT a voice....). Not my fave genre of music (bought it on a lark), but GREAT songs. So immediate and gripping, you feel like you are right there. I originally was going to just listen to a couple of tracks, but ended up spinning both sides without interruption. Just couldn't stop! Speakers Corner really hit it out of the park with this pressing - quiet, rich, warm, natural tone - all of the elements that we vinyl fanatics love. And the guitars - Yeah!!! Worth every penny. Equipment: Well-Tempered Amadeus GT, Grado Statement, GNSC-modded ARC SP-14, VAC PHI200, Aerial 7bs, Silversmith cabling.


Aretha Franklin - Unforgettable: A Tribute To Dinah Washington Product No: ACOL 8963
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

young Aretha

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 7, 2011 by Jason Loved this album. Fascinating to here difference between her and Dinah. Aretha is much less subdued but that might just be the difference in what was commercially acceptable at the Time. "Evil Gal blues" is a favorite. Aretha's vocals always gives me goosebumps but that song is just rockin. It would be hard for me to believe any fan not at least "like" if not love this album. Forgot to mention The musicians on this album are beyond compare. I felt like this album was made by and with the finest talents anywhere.


Miles Davis Quintet - 'Round About Midnight Product No: ACOL 949
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Great Album

5 Stars
Posted Friday, September 3, 2010 by John I am a guitarist just getting into modal jazz. My teacher told me to listen to Miles Davis, and mentioned this album. I listened to a few tracks on Youtube first and instantly loved it. The sound quality on the vinyl is full and clear. You cannot go wrong when Coltrane and Davis get together.


Santana - Caravanserai Product No: ACOL 31610
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Columbia)

Great

5 Stars
Posted Friday, February 6, 2009 by Anonymous A totally faultless pressing, as usual from Speakers Corner. Sound slightly more open than the original (US) pressing. Recommemded.



Viewing 1 - 14 of 14 Products