Chet Baker - Chet Baker & Crew


Pure Pleasure Records (Capitol)



Product No.:
APPR 1224
EAN: 5060149621141
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

Mastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray.

The numbers heard on Chet Baker & Crew were among a prolific flurry of recordings Baker was involved in during the last week of July 1956 - fresh from an extended European stay. The crew on these sides includes Phil Urso (tenor sax), Bobby Timmons (piano), Jimmy Bond (bass), Peter Littman (drums) and of course Baker (trumpet/vocals). Joining the combo on both the original as well as the alternate take of "To Mickey's Memory" and "Pawnee Junction" is Bill Loughbrough (chromatic tympani). His unmistakable percussive accents and tuned drum solos give these West Coast bop tracks uniquely Polynesian intonations. This LP reissue of Chet Baker & Crew increases the original eight-song Pacific Jazz collection to include all 14 tracks complete during three sessions in late July 1956 at the Forum Theater in Los Angeles.


1. To Mickey's Memory
2. Slightly Above Moderate
3. Halema
4. Revelation
5. Something For Liza
6. Lucius Lu
7. Worrying The Life Out Of Me
8. Medium Rock
9. To Mickey's Memory (Alternate Take)
10. Jumpin' Off A Clef
11. Chippyin'
12. Pawnee Junction
13. Music To Dance By
14. Line For Lyons

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it