Jimmy D. Lane - Legacy


APO Records



Product No.:
AAPO 2005
UPC: 753088200519
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP  
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:

Jimmy D. Lane's first album for APO, Long Gone, has been instrumental in gathering widespread acclaim for the multitalented son of the late blues legend Jimmy Rogers. Critics worldwide have responded positively to Lane's incendiary guitar prowess and powerful vocals. Comparisons to Hendrix have been made. With Legacy, Jimmy D. Lane proves that he is as compelling looking back towards the great blues masters of the past as he is at crossing stylistic lines and pushing the music forward.

His nine original compositions, while firmly rooted in the blues, allow Jimmy plenty of room to showcase his vision of a blues future. Jimmy D. is joined by the great Carey Bell on harmonica, Ronnie Earl alumni Per Hanson on drums, David Krull on piano and Freddie Crawford on bass. On the rousing remake of Howlin' Wolf's Big House, Wolf cohorts Hubert Sumlin and Sam Lay join in on the fun.

The album title a refers to the intensely personal legacy passed from father to son. In what was to be the last time he sang or played his guitar (Jimmy Rogers passed away two months after these recordings), Jimmy Rogers joins his son for two unbelievably poignant performances on Another Mule Kicking in My Stall and One Room Country Shack. The old man was in fine form in the studio and it shows. Father and son were clearly having a ball! Jimmy D. Lane moves directly to the front ranks of those who will take the blues into the next century. - Living Blues

1. Hey Little Girl
2. Clue Me
3. Four O'clock In The Morning
4. Going Downtown
5. Another Mule Kickin' In My Stall
6. In This Bed
7. Big House
8. Baby's Mule
9. One Room Country Shack

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it