Son House - Father of Folk Blues

 (The Complete 1965 Sessions)

Son House - Father of Folk Blues


Pure Pleasure Records (Columbia)



Product No.:
APPR 9217
EAN: 5060149620304
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP  

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record
Hybrid Stereo SACD
45 RPM Vinyl Record

"Based upon the diversity of music, quality of product and their extraordinary rate of progress, Pure Pleasure Records is our re-issue record company of the year."
- hi-fi+

After being rediscovered by the folk-blues community in the early '60s, Son House rose to the occasion and recorded this magnificent set of performances. Allowed to stretch out past the shorter running time of the original 78s, House turns in wonderful, steaming performances of some of his best-known material. On some tracks, House is supplemented by folk-blues researcher/musician Alan Wilson, who would later become a member of the blues-rock group Canned Heat and here plays some nice second guitar and harmonica on several cuts.

1. Death Letter
2. Pearline
3. Louise McGhee
4. John the Revelator
5. Empire State Express
6. Preachin' Blues
7. Grinning In Your face
8. Sundown
9. Levee Camp Moan
10. President Kennedy
11. A Down The Staff
12. Motherless Children
13. Yonder Comes My Mother
14. Shake It and Break It
15. Pony Blues
16. Downhearted Blues

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 2 person(s) rated this product.

Very nice pressing

posted on 05/01/2018
5 Stars
Reviewer: Mike
The quality of the pressing is fine and the music is good, solid, old delta blues. He was in fine form when he recorded this and Pure Pleasure did a magnificent job of remastering and pressing this album. As if that isn't enough this has twice as much music as everything else available.

What are you waiting for? Get it if you love delta blues by someone with songwriting and playing talent.

It's all here.....

posted on 07/19/2011
5 Stars
Reviewer: Bob
....gotta have this release. One of the most solid recording efforts out there. Listening to this is an event.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.