Sign Up for Our Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates

Bill Frisell - Orchestras


Blue Note



Product No.:
ABLU 43443
UPC: 602458837407
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
New Arrival

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram double LP

Guitarist Bill Frisell's new double LP Orchestras documents two inspired concert-hall engagements arranged by Michael Gibbs for Frisell's long-standing trio with bassist Thomas Morgan and drummer Rudy Royston: one featuring the nearly 60-piece Brussels Philharmonic, conducted by Alexander Hanson; and one with the 11-piece Umbria Jazz Orchestra, under the musical direction of Manuele Morbidini.

But as with so much of Frisell's music over the past four decades, a relatively straightforward concept and a familiar songbook yield quietly stirring revelations. The music showcases a level of comfort and interactivity that far transcends the vast majority of "with strings" projects on the jazz record shelf. Sweeping orchestration evoking landmark film scores and Gil Evans alike move nimbly within and around the trio's telepathic rapport, and Frisell's shimmering trademark tone melds gorgeously with symphonic strings and brass.

Side A
1. Nocturne Vulgaire – Live/Brussels Philharmonic
2. Lush Life – Live/Brussels Philharmonic
3. Doom – Live/Brussels Philharmonic
4. Rag – Live/Brussels Philharmonic
5. Throughout – Live/Brussels Philharmonic

Side B
6. Electricity – Live/Brussels Philharmonic
7. Sweet Rain – Live/Brussels Philharmonic
8. Richter 858, No. 7 – Live/Brussels Philharmonic
9. Beautiful Dreamer – Live/Brussels Philharmonic

Side C
10. Lookout for Hope – Live/Umbria Jazz Orchestra
11. Levees – Live/Umbria Jazz Orchestra
12. Strange Meeting – Live/Umbria Jazz Orchestra

Side D
13. Doom – Live/Umbria Jazz Orchestra
14. Electricity – Live/Umbria Jazz Orchestra
15. Monica Jane – Live/Umbria Jazz Orchestra
16. We Shall Overcome – Live/Umbria Jazz Orchestra

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it