John Lee Hooker - Burning Hell


Bluesville (Acoustic Sounds Series)



Product No.:
UPC: 888072507937
Pre Order

180 Gram Vinyl Record

Coming June 07, 2024

180 Gram LP  

or Add to Wishlist


The Bluesville Series from Craft Recordings and Acoustic Sounds!

Inspired by the original Prestige label imprint established in 1959

Burning Hell by John Lee Hooker

First worldwide LP release!

Highlighting trailblazing blues musicians from legendary labels

Burning Hell was recorded in 1959 in Detroit, MI, but wasn't released until 1964. Even then, it was only available in the U.K.. This 180-gram vinyl pressing marks the first official single LP worldwide release the album has seen. Pressed at QRP as part of the Bluesville Records / Acoustic Sounds series, the album features Hooker solo as he plays originals and classics. AllMusic states that, on this album, "Hooker shows himself to be an excellent interpreter who could have held his own with Delta bluesmen of any era."

Craft Recordings, in partnership with Acoustic Sounds, is releasing Burning Hell as part of the Bluesville Series. Bluesville is a brand-new hub for all things blues, including vinyl reissues, curated playlists, and more! Inspired by the original label imprint established under Prestige Records in 1959, the Bluesville Series will highlight the many trailblazing musicians who contributed to the rich tradition of the blues, including titles from legendary artists on labels such as Vee-Jay, Riverside, Vanguard, Stax, and Rounder Records.

The albums in the Bluesville Series are pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Quality Record Pressings and feature all-analog (AAA) mastering by Grammy-nominated engineer Matthew Lutthans at The Mastering Lab at Blue Heaven Studios, plus a tip-on jacket and obi strip with notes written by Grammy-winning producer, writer and musician Scott Billington.



1. Burnin' Hell
2. Graveyard Blues
3. Baby, Please Don't Go
4. Jackson, Tennessee
5. You Live Your Life And I'll Live Mine
6. Smokestack Lightnin'
7. I Don't Want No Woman If Her Hair Ain't No Longer Than Mine (Short-Haired Woman)
8. I Rolled And Turned And Cried The Whole Night Long
9. Blues For My Baby
10. Key To The Highway
11. Natchez Fire (Burnin')

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it