Joni Mitchell - Ladies Of The Canyon

 (Numbered Limited Edition)


Mobile Fidelity



Product No.:
CMOB 2267 SA
Pre Order

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Arrival Date To Be Announced

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Numbered edition Hybrid SACD

Landmark 1970 album in reference-level audiophile sound

Ladies of the Canyon can be viewed as Joni Mitchell's coming-out party. Having recently moved to Lookout Mountain in Los Angeles' Laurel Canyon area — her house is depicted in a watercolor painting she made for the record's cover — the Canadian icon turned to her immediate surroundings for inspiration all the while taking the pulse of national affairs, corporate enterprise, celebrity, and her relationship with Graham Nash.

The rather upbeat Ladies of the Canyon also finds the singer-songwriter morphing into the groundbreaker who would shed folk music's constructs and wade into pop, jazz, soul, and poetry with a combination of depth, sophistication, self-examination, and acumen no one had ever heard. Deemed "powerful and brilliant" upon release by The New York Times, this 1970 set marks the first of six consecutive masterworks Mitchell made — and an album that deserves to be heard in reference-grade audiophile sound on Mobile Fidelity's numbered-edition Hybrid SACD.


1. Morning Morgantown
2. For Free
3. Conversation
4. Ladies of the Canyon
5. Willy
6. The Arrangement
7. Rainy Day House
8. The Priest
9. Blue Boy
10. Big Yellow Taxi
11. Woodstock
12. The Circle Game

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it