The Animals - Retrospective





Product No.:
AABK 99731
UPC: 018771997313
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram double LP

22-track collection released by ABKCO

Contains all 14 U.S. Top 40 hits by The Animals and late '60s lineup Eric Burdon & The Animals

Includes "See See Rider," "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood," "San Franciscan Nights" and No. 1 "House Of The Rising Sun"

On November 18, 2022, ABKCO Records will release, for the first time, a vinyl edition of Retrospective, the definitive 22-track collection spanning the years 1964-1970 from Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees The Animals. Originally released in 2004 on CD and SACD formats, the 180-gram black 2LP set gathers all 14 U.S. top 40 hits by The Animals and late ‘60s lineup Eric Burdon & The Animals, including "See See Rider," "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood," "San Franciscan Nights" and the transatlantic No. 1, "House Of The Rising Sun." The set is capped by the 1970 smash hit "Spill The Wine" by Eric Burdon & War.

Formed in Newcastle, England in the early 1960s out of the ashes of The Alan Price Rhythm & Blues Combo, The Animals moved to London in ‘64 and were signed to EMI's Columbia label by the visionary independent producer Mickie Most. Influenced by folk, blues, jazz, R&B, and early rock and roll, The Animals and front man Eric Burdon seemed tougher and more brooding than their British Invasion peers The Beatles and even The Rolling Stones.

An international sensation almost out of the gate, the band toured and recorded non-stop until the end of 1968, going through several lineup changes and parting ways with Mickie Most in '66 to work with producer Tom Wilson (Bob Dylan, Simon & Garfunkel, Mothers of Invention). After disbanding, Burdon joined forces in the early 1970s with Los Angeles funk band War for two albums and scored a Billboard number three (Cashbox number one) hit with "Spill the Wine," which featured the spoken-word style that he effectively employed on many of the latter Animals albums.

Side A
1. House Of The Rising Sun
2. I'm Crying
3. Baby Let Me Take You Home
4. Gonna Send You Back To Walker
5. Boom Boom
6. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood

Side B
1. Bring It On Home To Me
2. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place
3. It's My Life
4. Don't Bring Me Down
5. See See Rider
6. Inside - Looking Out

Side C
1. Hey Gyp
2. Help Me Girl
3. When I Was Young
4. A Girl Named Sandoz
5. San Franciscan Nights
6. Monterey

Side D
1. Anything
2. Sky Pilot
3. White Houses
4. Spill The Wine

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it