Peter Gabriel - Rated PG

 (Half-Speed Master + Download Code)


Real World Records



Product No.:
ARWL 8409
UPC: 884108008409
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

180-gram vinyl LP

Half-speed mastered

Limited time album download included

Rated PG is a collection of Peter Gabriel songs from the movies.

Having always loved the combination of film and music (aged 17 he gave up a place at film school to pursue a career in music) Peter Gabriel's first opportunity to really marry these twin interests came when he was asked to create the music for Alan Parker's film Birdy in 1985. Further film work, including his music for Martin Scorsese's The Last Temptation of Christ (that became the album Passion) and the soundtrack to Philip Noyce's film Rabbit-Proof Fence (released as the album Long Walk Home), has continued to feed that interest.

"I have always loved film and any chance I have been offered to work with good film projects and good directors I have jumped at. This is a mixture of songs that have been written for specific films, and existing songs that found an appropriate place in a story. Consequently, there is a mix of different styles and moods." — Peter Gabriel

Alongside those longer soundtrack commissions Peter Gabriel has also regularly contributed songs to a diverse range of movies and Rated PG explores this other connection forged by Peter between his music and film.

Rated PG is an opportunity to bring together in one place, for the first time, a selection of songs written especially for, or used to notable effect in, movies and includes new and previously unreleased versions, otherwise unavailable songs and a brand new track.

Side A
1. That'll Do (feat. Paddy Maloney & The Black Dyke Mills Band)
2. Down to Earth (feat. Soweto Gospel Choir)
3. This Is Party Man (feat. The Worldbeaters)
4. The Book of Love
5. Taboo - By Peter Gabriel & Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan

Side B
1. Everybird
2. Walk Through The Fire
3. Speak (Bol) [feat. Atif Aslam]
4. Nocturnal
5. In Your Eyes

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it