Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

James Taylor - American Standard

 (+ Download Code)





Product No.:
AFAN 620
UPC: 888072145726
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
45 RPM Vinyl Record
+ Download Code


180-gram vinyl

American Standard songs based on skillful acoustic guitar work!

Timeless classic songs from American classic James Taylor

It takes an extraordinary artist to re-imagine some of the most beloved songs of the 20th century and make them completely their own. And that's precisely what James Taylor has accomplished with his brand-new album, American Standard. Recalling the best of James' early work, he infuses new sounds and fresh meaning into these timeless works of art.

Although these 14 carefully chosen interpretations naturally feature James' warm, one-of-a-kind vocal ability and incomparable musicianship, what makes this collection so unique is the inventive way James and his fellow co-producers, longtime collaborator Dave O'Donnell and famed musician John Pizzarelli, approached the project. Unlike most who have tackled similar material, American Standard's beautifully simple, stripped-down arrangements are based on James' skillful acoustic guitar work rather than piano and the affect is mesmerizing.

Side 1
My Blue Heaven
Moon River
Teach Me Tonight
As Easy As Rolling Off A Log
Almost Like Being In Love
Sit Down, You’re Rockin’ The Boat
The Nearness Of You

Side 2
You’ve Got To Be Carefully Taught
God Bless The Child
Pennies From Heaven
My Heart Stood Still
Ol' Man River
It's Only A Paper Moon
The Surrey With The Fringe On Top

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it