Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

George Duke - Feel

 (+ Liner Notes and a Picture of the Original Master Tape Box)





Product No.:
AMPS 212856
EAN: 4029759128564
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

New Arrival

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl

Liner notes and a picture of the original master tape box inside the jacket

This album with the strange psychedelic sci-fi cover draws a tighter circle around Duke's fusion language. The keyboard master ventures deep into his synthesizer laboratory. Their textures become a more essential component of his pieces, attaining orchestral dimensions, as evidenced in the opener, "Funny Funk," with its smacking, squishing tongue-in-cheek dialogue between the synths. A virtuoso layering of the keyboards is also central to "Cora Joberge," and on "Rashid," Duke's electronic orchestra explodes over the stormy drums of Leon "Ndugu" Chancler.

Duke shows himself to be a singer with a soulful sound. Shortly before this recording he had shelved his trombone so that he could communicate more directly with the audience, as can be heard in the hymnal, dreamlike title piece. The guest list of players make for an especially exciting concoction. No less than Duke's playing companion Frank Zappa, under the cryptic pseudonym Obdewl'l X, performs some adventuresome guitar passages on "Love and Old Slippers." On the California-sunshine pop samba, "Yana Aminah," we have a surprise visit by Brazilian Flora Purim, wife of percussionist Airto Moreira, who opens up his bag of tricks on "The Once Over," and plays on three more tracks.

Side A
1. Funny Funk
2. Love
3. The Once Over
4. Feel

Side B
1. Cora Jobege
2. Old Slippers
3. Theme From The Opera “Tzina”
4. Yana Aminah
5. Rashid
6. Statement

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it