Esperanza Spalding - Emily's D+Evolution

 (+ Download Code)





Product No.:
ACON 36281
UPC: 888072382817
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

180-gram gatefold LP

Album download included, offer subject to expiration

Esperanza Spalding's new project Emily's D+Evolution is a fresh artistic vision for the 4-time Grammy winner, a daring tapestry of music, vibrant imagery, performance art and stage design. Co-produced by Esperanza and Tony Visconti (David Bowie), the album is an electrifying take on the power trio adorned with backing singers and touches of synthesizer, "as if to fly the pirate flag of the Black Rock Coalition" according to The New York Times.

Esperanza assembled a new band for Emily's D+Evolution including guitarist Matthew Stevens (Christian Scott) and drummer Karriem Riggins (Madlib, Erykah Badu). She recorded some of the album's 11 tracks in front of a small audience in a Los Angeles studio. The result is otherworldly cosmic soul, kinetic songs that burst with energy and life. Album opener "Good Lava" offers a grand salvo: sinewy riffs doubled on electric bass and distorted guitar with melodies that stick and float across registers. NPR Music has the video premiere for "Good Lava" and an interview with Esperanza about the new album here.


Side 1
Good Lava
Unconditional Love
Earth To Heaven
Rest In Pleasure

Side 2
Ebony And Ivy
Noble Nobles
Farewell Dolly
Elevate Or Operate
Funk The Fear
I Want It Now

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it