Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 52 product(s) that are

Limited Stock

in the

Classical Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 52 Products
Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau - Schubert: Winterreise D911 Product No: CDGJ 9039 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

The greatest performance and the most outstanding recording/remastering SACD sound.

5 Stars
Posted Monday, October 12, 2020 by John Fang When I was a child, I heard the simplified version of the Der Lindenbaum. I was so attracted to it’s beautiful melody and it’s sweet-sour feeling that says “Come here to me,friend, here you will find your rest”. Later on I realized it is a lied from Schubert’s Winterreise. I was so astonished how artistic it is, with the contrasting middle section and the beautiful peaceful ending. Since then I started to collect many LP/Cassettes/CD in order to have a “perfect” one. I have 5 of his CD, from 1955 to 1985, including the CD version of this 1972 recording. The early one (1955) is very outstanding..However the recording is old, and the piano part is not well recorded. This 1972 SACD is totally different. The sound is so grandiose in both piano and vocal, as in cathedral, for hymn-like last two songs (21 & 23). It gives the Winterreise a deeper meaning, the life and destiny.


Ferenc Fricsay - Dvorak: Sym. No. 9/Smetana: Moldau/Lizst: Les Preludes Product No: CUNI 91082
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Blu-ray Audio
Label: Universal Records

No 5.1 mix

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 22, 2020 by Anonymous Although this is a great sounding album with a great performance of 2 of my favorite classical pieces, there is no 5.1 mix on the album, which is why I bought. I


Pavel Kogan - Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade Product No: ACCS 2002Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, August 31, 2019 by Anonymous


Carlo Rizzi - Ravel: Ma Mere l'Oye, Tzigane Product No: ATAC L977
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Tacet

A recording of merit.

4 Stars
Posted Sunday, February 22, 2015 by Arturo C Excellent sound and dynamics, not as impressive as the same ensemble and conductor's recording of Ravel's Bolero and La Valse.


Various Artists - Mercury Living Presence Collector's Edition Box Set Product No: ADEC 83190
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Decca

A superb followup to Volume 1

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 12, 2013 by Jonathan This set is the second 6-lp reissue of selected Mercury Living Presence recordings, the initial volume having been released during 2012. The original 2012 set was superb and this followup set is every bit as good as the original. Pressings are uniformly excellent, the sound is clear and well-defined and the transfers to vinyl have obviously been performed with a great deal of care and expertise. An excellent booklet is included which contains a number of interesting photographs I have not seen published anywhere else.

I certainly will not hestitate to purchase any further volumes in this series, but I would hope that the Mercury recordings of Henryk Szeryng are given further consideration, since apart from the Brahms Concerto in Volume 1, so far as I am aware none of his Mercury recordings have ever been reissued onto LP in the "modern" era of audiophile LP reissues.


Louis Fremaux - Offenbach Overtures Product No: AKLALE 517
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Klavier

Lots of fun.

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 1, 2013 by Arturo A good recording and performance for $7.50? Yes indeed, it is very enjoyable light music well performed and recorded for a mere $7.50. Do yourself favor an get it while it lasts. This records were made back in 1973, so the supply must be short.


Jascha Heifetz, Violin / Gregor Piatigorsky, Cello - Brahms: Concerto for Violin & Cello Product No: ALSC 2513
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Cisco (RCA Living Stereo)

Flawless!!!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, May 24, 2013 by Greg D. What an outstanding album! The vinyl is perfect. The recording is well done. The playing is mind blowing!!! These two masters of their instruments do things together that one would have thought impossible. Such a great composition. This is a numbered limited edition pressing. Get this LP now!


Leopold Stokowski - Bartok: Concerto for Orchestra Product No: AEVC 3069Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Great Bartok

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 12, 2013 by Triodeotl Great sound for Everest. If you like Bartok grab this you will like Stokowski's interpretation. Just wait till you hear the harp way off to the left edge of you speaker coming out of the wall.

Recommended.


Pierre Monteux - Dvorak: Symphony No. 2 Product No: ALSC 2489Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (RCA Living Stereo)

Beautiful work and performance. Great recording in parts.

4 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 2, 2013 by Warren This is one of my favourite symphonies, and I was looking forward to hearing this record. Overall I was very satisfied with the performance, and generally with the recording, though it gets strident in a few places. As usual Classic Records' pressing was superb.


Dan Fogelberg & Tim Weisberg - Twin Sons Of Different Mothers Product No: CSONG 70165
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Gold CD
Label: Sony

Worth every penny...and then some

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, April 30, 2013 by DWM If people recall, this was a hot album when it was released. Many questioned Dan Foglelburg's motive for recording this type of album. But any fan of Dan's after listening once suddenly knew why. It was, and still is, a great collaboration. This is a gold CD and as those who own gold CD's know, these open up things to the ear that regular CD's do not seem to capture. The instrumentation is simply fantastic. The last two tracks are worth the cost alone, one being "The Power of Gold." I would like to see more of Dan Fogleburg's catalog released again in either DTS, SACD, SHM, or K2 mastering. This is a must have purchase for anyone who likes a nice easy-going listening CD. Simply fantastic.


Paul Paray - Ravel: Rapsodie Espagnole/ Ibert: Escales Product No: AMER 90313Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Mercury Living Presence)

Desert Island Disc

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 21, 2013 by jerry hirshberg Gather all the superlative adjectives that have been draped upon the best of what Mercury created during the golden years of recording, and they simply do not suffice for this record. With the added perfection of state of the art pressing and virgin vinyl, this is a disc to treasure. It is not an exaggerated hi-fi sound that is delivered, but simply a seemingly effortless, see-through soundscape of the real thing, from whispered quiets to thunderous climaxes. And more importantly, it is all in the service of wonderful performances of gorgeous music.


Louis Fremaux - Berlioz: A Berlioz Orchestra Spectacular Product No: AKLALE 553
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Klavier

Truly spectacular.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 4, 2013 by Arturo Castaneda This is a real bargain. Excellent EMI recording, first class pressing by RTI at $10.00! What are you waiting for to buy it? Get one, you'll be glad. Just one question, why is a damaged one selling for $20.00 and the undamaged ones sell for half that price?


Lang Lang - The Chopin Album Product No: ASON 44913
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sony Classical

Great music - terrible pressing

2 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 17, 2013 by Grag Lanza I am finally having a chance to listen to this LP and it has = pops, bumps, and surface noise after cleaning. Using Hi-end TT, Graham Supreme and Lyra Kleos. Almost unlistenable for the noise.


Horenstein/ Hindemith - Bruch: Scottish Fantasia/ Hindemith: Violin Concerto Product No: ADEC 6035
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Hindemith Kicks Ass

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 11, 2012 by Triodeotl This whole LP is fantastic. Great orchestral playing and the soloist if beyond superb. The Hindemith kicks ass and the sound is super with great sonority and lots of bass slam and hall ambience. Go get it now! Sweet violin tone that sounds very close. Oh the sound of the bow on the strings. What a sound!


Maurice Abravanel - Varese: Ameriques Product No: AVAC 274
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Vanguard)

Great LP of Modern Music

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 13, 2012 by Triodeotl If you liked the Speakers Corner re-issue of "Ionization" on Decca. You will definately want to add this to your collection. Modern but accessable with lots of percussion and horns calling. Wonderful great sound that does not disapoint. The chances of finding an original of this are next to nil.

My copy was totally quiet and the pressing was totally flat. What are you waiting for the cover alone is worth the price of admission. In case you are wondering I am recommending you get it now before it sells out and goes out of print. Or worse yet it gets on one of those lists like the one that I am drawing up to post on the web and then what. The price will skyrocket overnight.

Or just wait until Harry Pearson hears it, then what? I highly recommend this LP for the sound and the music. Don't miss it or you'll be sorry. +++++


Ansermet, L'orch. De la Suisse Romande - Debussy: La Boite a Joujoux etc. Product No: UDEC SXL2136-180
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Preowned Vinyl Record

This item is Preowned. It is not sealed and has most likely been played before.
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Debussy Toy Box

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 28, 2012 by Triodeotl This LP has fantastic sound but I think the London Blueback cover is more fitting with the young girl on the cover.

Now out of print this Speakers Corner issue will likely increase in desirablity. Perhaps someone like ORG will re-issue it on 45 RPM for everyone to have again.

If you can find it don't miss it.


Felix Slatkin - Benjamin Britten: Young Person's Guide To The Orchestra / Dohnanyi: Variations On A Nursery Tune Product No: ACIS 8373
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Cisco (Capitol)

Stunning

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 27, 2012 by Triodeotl LP's do not get better than this musically and sonically. This is fun music at the very best with substance. Britten is the best British composer of our century.

Unbelievable recording from Capitol. I mean who would have thought? Its right up there with anything I have heard. A sonic knockout in everyway and deserves a place on the TAS List or anyones list for that matter.

This LP is reason to start your own list so put it on it right now. A masterpiece - - Recommended! +++++


Antal Dorati - Rachmaninoff: Concerto No. 2 in C Minor Product No: AMER 90260
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Another Winner From Team Mercury

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 17, 2012 by Triodeotl This is notably one of the very best performances of the piano concerto #2 on LP. The sound is very transparent and is amongst the best that Mercury ever got at the Northrop Auditorium.

The piano is up front and center and the playing from Janis is exemplary. The playing of the orchestra compliments the piano in every way. This LP has possibly the best balance between the piano and the orchestra I have heard.

My pressing was flat and noise free. Another great Dorati. Do not hesitate to buy this LP. Highly recommended and keep the coming Speakers Corner. +++++


Frederick Fennell - Wagner For Band Product No: AMER 90276
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Recommended TAS List LP

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 14, 2012 by Triodeotl This LP has been a long standing TAS list LP and there is a reason why. Its the sound which has the fullest Mercury sound on record that I have heard and also one of the biggest bass drum sounds ever. Telarc is not match for this.

Reservation is that this is the wedding march on side one but the sound is so big and warm you will not care. If you relish sonic knockouts then you must have this LP in your collection. If you love sound you will be pulling it out all the time to show off you systems bass response and harmonic coherency. Recommended if you love big bass and big sound. A audiophile knockout if there ever was one.

Lets have one round of hands for the Mercury Team and especially Harold Lawrence for allowing this work of art to have taken place. ++++


Sir Colin Davis - Mozart: Requiem Product No: APHI 802862
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Philips)

Surface noise galore!!

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 24, 2011 by Anonymous I was completely surprised by the amount of surface noise on this LP. I will call and send this one back. Maybe my copy was not properly recorded but it has lots of surface noise as well as not as clear sound you expect from a $40 purchase. I have been waiting for a long time for this order to be fulfilled. I hope this was not a waste of time and is only my LP.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 52 Products