Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 17 product(s) that are

Back Ordered

in the

R&B/Soul Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 17 of 17 Products
Sade - This Far Product No: ASON 56121
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Sony Music Entertainment

Sade! Love deluxe!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 3, 2021 by Anonymous Can't go wrong with this set. All her studio albums a must for a true Sade fan! I love the set! And sounds great!


Bill Withers - Bill Withers' Greatest Hits Product No: ALEG 67414
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Legacy

Very Clean and Smooth

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 11, 2021 by Brian VanPelt The music is super smooth, and the vinyl is super clean. There are essentially no surface noises to speak of - aside from the occasional light click here and there. There is nothing especially expensive about this record, but the vinyl sounds as good as any I've heard.

If that's not enough, the music is almost perfectly presented. For example, during the Ain't No Sunshine song, it starts off with Withers' voice centered/high, with only a guitar for a little bit, but then the rest of the band floods the room, and the transition feels like a warm flood. That describes much of the album. The soundstage is wide and 3D - the instruments are in the left/right forground, while Withers' voice is centered further back. Some other instruments fill the space from left-to-right.

This has got to be one of those albums you can use to relax after a hard day. The sound is topnotch, the record mostly clean and quiet, and it's not priced like an audiophile special.


Erykah Badu - Mama's Gun Product No: AMOT 33701
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Motown

Excellent Recording

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 13, 2021 by Chris_G As a life long Erykah Badu fan and of this album in particular, this pressing does not disappoint in any way. Excellent and soulful vocals, good bass and well recorded.

My only ding is that the labels are reversed on each of the 2 lps, so side 1 is really side 2 and side 3 is side 4 on my copy.

It was definitely worth the 6 month backorder wait to get the album.


Spinners - Best Of Spinners Product No: AFRM 59179
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Friday Music

Mixed feelings

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 9, 2021 by Anonymous The pressing is excellent/quiet, and the gold vinyl is beautiful! But I have mixed feelings about the sound. Some of the tracks sound wonderful and warm, like "One of a Kind (Love Affair)" and "They Just Can't Stop It The (Games People Play)". Others like "I'll be Around" sound bright. Not sure what the source was, or if it was different for some of the tracks. My analog components are all tube and tend to the warm side, yet on some of the tracks I felt the need to turn the volume down. Overall recommended, but can't give it 5 stars.


Quincy Jones - Body Heat Product No: ALMLR 782937
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: LMLR

Flawed pressing

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 2, 2020 by Anonymous Great music and fidelity, but listening experience weakened by several hitches in the giddyup: both sides had several stylus stick points.


Aretha Franklin - The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970 Product No: AATL 571351
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

PUNCHY MONO BASS

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 29, 2018 by Anonymous Both LPs are flat and quiet. I’m not sure if this is all analog although it sounds like it. This mono remaster is superb and bass has plenty of punch but no distortion.


Stevie Wonder - The Original Musiquarium I Product No: AMOT 36101
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Motown

Terrible sound

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 12, 2017 by Anonymous Sounds very thin and compressed. Why would anyone remaster something as badly as this and believe it was acceptable?

2 stars is a gift, put a minus in front for my true rating. stick to a used copy until it is done correctly.


Leon Bridges - Coming Home Product No: ACOL 91419
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Columbia

Great Soul Debut

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 21, 2015 by audiofan It's amusing to see this listed as an "alternative" music selection; this is mid-60s soul all the way, like Sam & Otis used to make. The vinyl is quite well-done - there were no noise problems or defects with my copy. The mix is (purposefully) reminiscent of the era mined by the music - it has one foot in the past (and I mean that in a positive way) but manages to sound both dynamic and 'analog' at the same time. A great new artist and a very decent pressing!


Bill Withers - Live At Carnegie Hall Product No: CMOB 2156 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Bill Withers - Live At Carnegie Hall Hybrid SACD 2014

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 15, 2014 by Mark Powers I am not a big R&B person but this recording is now in my top 10 of live performances and I have been listening to music for quite awhile, a must purchase. Bill Withers voice is a pure and very strong true R&B voice. The band during this recording is perfect. It all comes together with a very enthusiastic live audience that you can hear throughout. Packaging is good with good liner notes. There are some issues here and there with the sonic quality's of the recording, some drops, announcer's mic doesn't seem to be on same board, sometimes the audience can get a little loud, very little things. The performance is so strong it blows away imperfections in the sonic quality. I am going to listen again, right now. If you are looking for a disc to take you out of your normal genre, this is it.


The Meters - The Meters Product No: AJOS 4010H
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Josie

Funky!

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 16, 2013 by Jeff C - Australia Being half the price of most LPs these days I had reserved expectations. However the pressing quality is pretty good and the sound is very acceptable and given that this old school instrumental funk is the bomb, I have to say this album is well worth getting. Perhaps an original pressing may sound better or worst but without anything to compare to, I have no complaints about the sound quality on this one.


Earth, Wind & Fire - That's The Way Of The World Product No: AIMX 6015
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, August 31, 2013 by Anonymous Ok, first of all I'm a big fan of the Impex re-issues. When I saw this offering I jumped on it, thinking of 70's nirvana. While waiting for it to arrive, I pulled out my original and after a playing knew they would have their hands full with this one. The re-issue is an improvement in every way, they even lightened the cover artwork. The record is dead flat and completely void of ticks and pops but lacks all those audiophile attributes. I have to wonder why they picked this album for their catalog. I am certain that Impex did their best with the source they had to work with, but if I had to do it again I would gladly pass on this one, but your opinion may be different though I think the better your system the more you will be disappointed. Crank up the volume and party on......


Shuggie Otis - In Session Information Product No: ARPM 509
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: RPM

A real gem for Shuggie and R&B fans!

4 Stars
Posted Friday, June 8, 2012 by Louie I never knew this album existing and since I have everything Shuggie has done, and even some obscure titles with his dad, I had to have it. What a surprise. Great playing, songs and vocals. Sound is good, but it is all about the soul and the feel here. Excellent packaging and liner notes about the artists. Very well done and worthy. It further illustrates what a real talent this guy is - very different from his solo LPs, but has that signature guitar sound.


Curtis Mayfield - Superfly Product No: ARHI 524044
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Rhino

C L A S S I C

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 3, 2012 by Anonymous This took me back! Without the snap crackle & pop!


Dan Dyer - Dan Dyer Direct-To-Disc Product No: AAPO 012
Available: BackOrdered
Category: D2D Vinyl Record
Label: APO Records

Unveiled Clarity

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 18, 2011 by Anonymous Excellent pressing. Nice packaging. Extremely clear unveiled sonics. Occassional vocal siblence. Dan's vocals are strong, but his back up singer is flat at times. Musicianship is good, although not a lot of excitement. But it is a very pleasing record to listen to because it sounds "real"...as most music today does not. I am glad I purchased this direct-to-disc. It is my first and I will most probably add others to my collection, as it is very nice to hear "real" for a change...


Various Artists - Stax Number Ones Product No: ASTA 32244
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Stax

much better sound than expected

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 8, 2010 by Nate Nice, clean sounding regular weight pressing. The sound quality is quite acceptable for a LP at this price, and who could ask for a better track listing! Please use caution when playing this LP in public, as this music may cause innocent bystanders to "get down" with no regard for decency.


Otis Redding - The Soul Album Product No: ASUN 5132
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Sundazed

Wonderful smooth grooves and tight sound

4 Stars
Posted Friday, August 21, 2009 by benjah A perfect chill-time album of classic tunes from Otis, fabulously preserved and reproduced in this mono recording. Just not for play while alone and missing that special someone. 4.5 stars.


Otis Redding - Otis Blue Product No: ASUN 5064
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Sundazed

Satisfaction with Soul delivered

4 Stars
Posted Friday, March 20, 2009 by Mitch Long For once all the reviews in all the books are right. The music is pure magic. Ok its mono but it sounds fantastic Otis is simmering away right there in front of you with tenderness and intensity. Satisfaction lets it out the bag in quite different way to the Stones, for me the hilight in its presentation of an old standard. Jack Black (or is that N Hornby) would say "how come you don't own this record man" Yes this LP is good i'm starting to catch sunstroke thanks to sundazed.



Viewing 1 - 17 of 17 Products