Found 10 product(s) that are

Back Ordered

in the

R&B/Soul Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 Products
Bill Withers - Live At Carnegie Hall Product No: CMOB 2156 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Bill Withers - Live At Carnegie Hall Hybrid SACD 2014

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 15, 2014 by Mark Powers I am not a big R&B person but this recording is now in my top 10 of live performances and I have been listening to music for quite awhile, a must purchase. Bill Withers voice is a pure and very strong true R&B voice. The band during this recording is perfect. It all comes together with a very enthusiastic live audience that you can hear throughout. Packaging is good with good liner notes. There are some issues here and there with the sonic quality's of the recording, some drops, announcer's mic doesn't seem to be on same board, sometimes the audience can get a little loud, very little things. The performance is so strong it blows away imperfections in the sonic quality. I am going to listen again, right now. If you are looking for a disc to take you out of your normal genre, this is it.


Bill Withers - Live At Carnegie Hall Product No: AMOB 446
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Intimate Performance Perfectly Captured

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, August 3, 2014 by audiofan "Bill Withers Live" is a wonderful record. Pressed with MoFi's usual attention to sound quality, pristine vinyl, and heavy gatefold jacket, it faithfully reproduces what surely was a night to remember. The spoken intro's and BW's interaction with the crowd are heartwarming, and the music is warm and authentic. My copy was quiet across all four sides. If you're a fan, this is a must own!


The Meters - The Meters Product No: AJOS 4010H
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Josie

Funky!

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 16, 2013 by Jeff C - Australia Being half the price of most LPs these days I had reserved expectations. However the pressing quality is pretty good and the sound is very acceptable and given that this old school instrumental funk is the bomb, I have to say this album is well worth getting. Perhaps an original pressing may sound better or worst but without anything to compare to, I have no complaints about the sound quality on this one.


Earth, Wind & Fire - That's The Way Of The World Product No: AIMX 6015
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, August 31, 2013 by Anonymous Ok, first of all I'm a big fan of the Impex re-issues. When I saw this offering I jumped on it, thinking of 70's nirvana. While waiting for it to arrive, I pulled out my original and after a playing knew they would have their hands full with this one. The re-issue is an improvement in every way, they even lightened the cover artwork. The record is dead flat and completely void of ticks and pops but lacks all those audiophile attributes. I have to wonder why they picked this album for their catalog. I am certain that Impex did their best with the source they had to work with, but if I had to do it again I would gladly pass on this one, but your opinion may be different though I think the better your system the more you will be disappointed. Crank up the volume and party on......


D'Angelo - Voodoo Product No: AMCR 902
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Modern Classics Recordings

A missed opportunity

3 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 28, 2013 by Emmanuel If you're a big fan of this album like me you were probably overjoyed to see it on vinyl after it disappeared for such a long time. Having listened to this reissue several times, I am now convinced that what I've been listening to is a 96K/24bit high res transfer. The compressed sound that's coming from my speakers does not lie. That's why this is a missed opportunity. Unlike most records of the 2000s that are digitally produced, Voodoo was originally etched on analog tape, and cuz of that reason I feel the producers of this vinyl missed an opportunity to cut this reissue from the original master tape. It's not a bad record but there's a vast room for improvement. My advice to anyone interested is to get this because it's the only version available, and until Mofi or Analog Productions put out another version this will have to do.


Curtis Mayfield - Superfly Product No: ARHI 524044
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Rhino

C L A S S I C

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 3, 2012 by Anonymous This took me back! Without the snap crackle & pop!


Gnarls Barkley - St. Elsewhere Product No: AATL 70003
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Atlantic

Lousy quality control at Atlantic

2 Stars
Posted Monday, October 25, 2010 by Eric J Good album sprinkled with a few amazing tunes, including the song of the decade according to Rolling Stone magazine. Beyond "Crazy" I find that "Smiley Faces" is just as catchy and danceable.

However, the quality control with Atlantic is sub par. The spindle hole at the center of the record was too small for me to place on my turntable. I foolishly forced it down thinking it just needed a little stretch, but it was nearly impossible to pull off my turntable. Thank god I didn't damage my player.


Various Artists - Stax Number Ones Product No: ASTA 32244
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Stax

much better sound than expected

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 8, 2010 by Nate Nice, clean sounding regular weight pressing. The sound quality is quite acceptable for a LP at this price, and who could ask for a better track listing! Please use caution when playing this LP in public, as this music may cause innocent bystanders to "get down" with no regard for decency.


Otis Redding - The Soul Album Product No: ASUN 5132
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Sundazed

Wonderful smooth grooves and tight sound

4 Stars
Posted Friday, August 21, 2009 by benjah A perfect chill-time album of classic tunes from Otis, fabulously preserved and reproduced in this mono recording. Just not for play while alone and missing that special someone. 4.5 stars.


Funkadelic - Maggot Brain Product No: A4MB 161
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: 4 Men with Beards

Great music, not a great pressing

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, October 9, 2008 by Anonymous Fantastic album and a classic everyone should own. This is my second 4 Men With Beards album (other being Dusty in Memphis) and neither are what I would consider "audiophile" quality pressings. Lots of surface noise on each and tons of marks all over the vinyl.

Good packaging though, but the sound is always the most important aspect. If this is the only pressing you can find, by all means the music makes it worthy of a purchase.



Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 Products