Found 11 product(s) from the

Decca

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 11 of 11 Products
Riccardo Chailly - Brahms The Symphonies Product No: XUNI58195F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Decca

What a mess

1 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 13, 2016 by Terry Franklin Buyer beware. I just downloaded this mess of 44 tracks and I attempted to play Symphony No. 3. Unless you are a Brahms scholar there is no way to tell where one symphony starts and another one ends. I will have to rename the tracks manually so I can sort this out.


Herbert von Karajan - Tchaikovsky: Nutcracker Suite/Grieg: Peer Gynt Product No: ADEC 85542
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Decca

Great performance; poor pressing

2 Stars
Posted Sunday, December 13, 2015 by Austin L Lots of background pressing noise on the copy I received. It's a shame because the performance & recording are great. If you're looking for Decca reissues done correctly, stick with Speakers Corner.


Andre Previn - Schumann & Grieg: Piano Concertos/Radu Lupu Product No: ADEC 85627
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Decca

Digital!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 25, 2015 by Ian C. I can tell these were made from digital files. They sound thin.

Also not the quietest pressing.


Various Artists - Mercury Living Presence: The Collector's Edition Vol. 3 Product No: ADEC 80585
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Decca

Worth the price of admission

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 4, 2015 by Anonymous Just for the brand new re-mastering of the 1954 mono recording of Respighi Roman Festivals and Church Windows. For all the technological advancements that have taken place since the early 50s, if audio never got any better than what I heard when I put this brand new re-issue mono LP on my turntable, I couldn't have cared less. Stunning mono (and stereo) sound on superb quality pressings as has become the norm for these reissues.


Various Artists - Mercury Living Presence Collector's Edition Box Set Product No: ADEC 83190
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Decca

A superb followup to Volume 1

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 12, 2013 by Jonathan This set is the second 6-lp reissue of selected Mercury Living Presence recordings, the initial volume having been released during 2012. The original 2012 set was superb and this followup set is every bit as good as the original. Pressings are uniformly excellent, the sound is clear and well-defined and the transfers to vinyl have obviously been performed with a great deal of care and expertise. An excellent booklet is included which contains a number of interesting photographs I have not seen published anywhere else.

I certainly will not hestitate to purchase any further volumes in this series, but I would hope that the Mercury recordings of Henryk Szeryng are given further consideration, since apart from the Brahms Concerto in Volume 1, so far as I am aware none of his Mercury recordings have ever been reissued onto LP in the "modern" era of audiophile LP reissues.


Akiko Suwanai - Sibelius & Walton: Violin Concertos Product No: CDEJ 9007 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Decca

Fantastic!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, October 4, 2012 by chasmanchu This is a must have the music and sound are both superb!


Original Soundtrack - A Man Could Get Killed Product No: PDEC DL4750S
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Sealed Out-of-Print Vinyl Record
Label: Decca

Nice!

3 Stars
Posted Monday, July 30, 2012 by CADiver Gave me a taste of history, old movie sound track lp from Decca! I barely know how to talk when this movie came out, while it's not like Living Stereo or Mercury Living Pressence or Other classic Decca. This is still a quality recording. Fun to listen to.


Claudio Arrau - Liszt: Piano Works Product No: CDEJ 9002 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Decca

Spectacular Performances/Miraculous Sound

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, December 18, 2010 by Jack Truslow This has long been my favorite performance of the sonata since its first appearance on a Philips LP. But I was just astonished by this SACD incarnation. Arrau might well have been sitting at the piano 15 feet in front of me. I can now hear subtleties and details that I never heard on the vinyl record. If you like Arrau's Liszt, buy this!


Georg Solti - Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 Product No: ADEC 121
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Decca

Great performance average recording

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 24, 2008 by Dave I bought this LP set based on the recommendation of a musician friend. The pacing is incredible. Solti milks the great CSO for all it's worth. Dynamics are huge and, of course, the playing and singing is fantastic.

I paid for a premium pressing and feel like it is only average. There a high number of miscellaneous pops and ticks. This Decca recording isn't up to the incredible high CSO standards set my RCA. The chorus is stronger sounding than the orchestra and the brass is covered by both the strings and chorus. You CAN listen through and hear all the details.

Buy this for the performance. The recording is good, but don't expect to match your older RCA recordings.


Various Artists - A Journey Into Stereo Sound Product No: ADEC 4769545
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Decca

A Blessing For Equipment Auditioning

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 20, 2007 by Andrew Maher Aspects of this disc are a bit cheesy. It is the one where the narrator says "ping" in one channel, and "pong" in the other. It opens with a steam train running between the speakers, contains the Ceremony of the Keys from The Tower of London, and car racing. There are also several musical excerpts such as Decca/London's famous "Espana" recording that are still used by some equipment reviewers to try out new gear, Solti's 1958 recording of Act III of "Die Walkure" gives us a taste of grand opera, and there is a brief sequence of Ernest Ansermet rehearsing "The Rite of Spring". The popular music of 1958 is probably a bit dated, but the virtue of the disc is that it does provide a series of different musical styles that allow listeners to try out their gear without having to swap records frequently. The recording quality is remarkably good. The pressing had a couple of minor extraneous noises, but was otherwise very silent. Take this with you when audtioning a new turntable.


Kenneth Alwyn - Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture, Capriccio Italien, & Marche Slave Product No: ADEC 2001
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Decca

Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, February 14, 2007 by Adam Masterpeice!!!Wonderful sound ,Like your really there cannon shots GREAT..Must buy !!!!!!!!!



Viewing 1 - 11 of 11 Products