Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 20 product(s) in the

Folk Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 20 Products
Mary Lou Williams - Mary Lou Williams Product No: ASFW 702843
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Smithsonian Folkways

Excellent recording

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 29, 2020 by Gsal I am impressed by the sound quality of this pressing. Some vocal material and great jazz compositions. The vocals do reflect her religious beliefs. But if you are collecting Mary Lou Williams or Pittsburgh jazz history this is a worthy addition to your collection.


Dave Van Ronk - Ballads, Blues & A Spiritual Product No: ASFW 703818
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Smithsonian Folkways

Highly recommended

5 Stars
Posted Monday, July 20, 2020 by GSal High quality pressing that sounds really great and captures the artist at his best. Definitely not your daddy's Folkways record! All of the songs are equally great too. A worthy addition to your collection.


Gillian Welch - The Harrow & The Harvest Product No: ACNY 1109
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Acony Records

Fantastic!

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, August 6, 2017 by AtlTrav Pour a glass of bourbon and sit back and relax because you will be transported back in time! Beautiful album all around...100% analog goodness, gatefold jacket, and nice pressing. Excited to hear her future vinyl releases!


Samantha Crain - Under Branch & Thorn & Tree Product No: ARAM 19842
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Ramseur Records

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 22, 2016 by Anonymous


Peter, Paul & Mary - Album 1700 Product No: CAPF 1700 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

The Best Version of A Classic, Favorite Album

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 10, 2016 by Jeffrey Fritz "Album 1700" is, by far, my favorite Peter, Paul & Mary album. I own the original LP and the Warner Brothers CD.

So how does the SACD sound? In a word "fantastic!" The vocals are clean and clear. Dick Kniss' upright acoustic bass is amazing on "Weep for Jamie" and "Whatshername." Clear, clean, strong and powerful-- much more so than on either the LP or CD. You can hear every string on the bass as it's played. The rest of the instruments come through sounding natural and real.

Kevin Gray has somehow figured out how to tame Mary Travers vocals. Mary had a powerful voice that could overload just about any microphone used to record her. How Kevin Gray overcame that is a mystery--but I'm glad that he did.

Tape hiss is audible during the quiet passages. I think that's a good thing because it may mean that processing was kept to a minimum in the remaster.

Kevin Gray's remaster lets me hear what happened in the recording studio back in 1967--and that


Simon & Garfunkel - The Concert In Central Park Product No: ACOL 49741
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Columbia

Exceptional!!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, November 6, 2015 by Sujay This is right up there amongst the best live performances ever! The music is great, the recording is in another league altogether. While this is the only pressing I have heard, the sound is as open as it gets, the soundstage is HUGE, with spectacular dynamics and crystal clear resolution. This is better than most studio recordings I have heard.........brilliant!


Joan Baez - Diamonds and Rust in the Bullring Product No: CAPF 080 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Amazing Quality & Must Have Album

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, June 28, 2015 by Donald Scarinci Since it's a relatively old recording made in a less than ideal setting, I wasn't quite sure what this would sound like. But every Analog Production recording in my collection sounds great, so I gave it a try. I am glad I did. This is a spectacular album both as a performance and as a audiophile quality disc. I wish all digital music could sound this good.


Joan Baez - Diamonds and Rust in the Bullring Product No: AAPF 080
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

A magical recording.

5 Stars
Posted Friday, February 6, 2015 by Michael Kaplan I own the original pressing of this recording (1989). It has always been one of my favorite records with incredible sonics. Thank you Chad for repressing this magical recording. An excellent job. You will get 90% of the sonics of the original pressing which is tough to find (and expensive). The spanish side 2 especially cut 2 "Llego Con Tres Heridas" is worth the price of admission. The original has a little better clarity to Joan's voice with a little deeper bass (electrical). Still a must have if you like Joan and great music.


Peter, Paul & Mary - Peter, Paul And Mary Product No: AORG 0069-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

1 Stars
Posted Thursday, February 5, 2015 by Anonymous


Lucinda Williams - Car Wheels On A Gravel Road Product No: AMOV 1125
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Music On Vinyl

Good Effort

4 Stars
Posted Friday, January 30, 2015 by Anonymous I own over 500 vinyl albums and "Car Wheels" may by my #1 favorite album of all time. On a scale of 1 to 10 this album is an 11 musically. It doesn't get any better than Side 2. I rated it 4 Stars because the MOV pressing used a 24bit/96 digital master. However - they did a pretty good job. The recording is a little soft & warm which works out OK for me. Recommended Buy.


Mary Black - The Holy Ground Product No: APPR 019
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Pure Pleasure Records (3u)

Mary Well Done Again

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, September 24, 2014 by Ross Another great Mary Black album remastered very well. Compared to the original pressing (which is expensive and hard to find now) there is greater weight and detail as the original sounds somewhat thin and harsh by comparison. A very quiet pressing seals the deal.


Billy Bragg & Wilco - Mermaid Avenue Product No: ANON 536075
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Nonesuch

Fantastic Album!

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 15, 2014 by Anonymous Wonderful classic arrangements of songs by Woody Guthrie. Bragg/Wilco along with Natalie Merchant bring a fresh new life to them! Pressed at Pallas in Germany, mastered by Grundman and cut by Chris Bellman. Needless to say you are in for a treat!


Mary Black - No Frontiers Product No: APPR 016
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Pure Pleasure Records (3u)

Mary Well Done

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 31, 2013 by Ross Great music and one of my favorite lp's.This reissue is at least as good as my original vinyl which is very hard to find now.Columbus,as many know,is an all-time great track musically and sonically.


Richard Thompson - Electric Product No: AWST 5072
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: New West Records

Terrible

1 Stars
Posted Monday, April 8, 2013 by TJN You only need three words to describe the sound on this LP; compression, compression and more compression.


Esther Ofarim - Esther Product No: AFIM 01
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: First Impression Music

ATR-001 Reproduction

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by CADiver The original Esther LP were from ~1980 by ATR or ATR-001. I had 2 of the original LP and 1 CD much much later. Very familar w/ this disc. I can't wait to see what FIM does to it. I can tell you this disc should not be a hi-fi audition test disc but I know we all do! On the music side, love her ability to sing, so many variation of style. Every songs show her ability to sing differently.


Doc Watson - Home Again! Product No: AVAN 79239
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Cisco (Vanguard Records)

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 4, 2009 by Phil Mac This is a fabulous album for those who like beautifully played country/folk acoustic guitar and vocals. Side two not as well produced as side one but still a worthwhile album to add to your collection.


Fotheringay - Fotheringay 2 Product No: ASMF 1001
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Stamford Audio

Well worth the wait...

4 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 10, 2009 by Oliver, Germany Now, this is a really surprising record; o. k. it could have been merely demos of songs which were recorded properly later on in the career of the participants, but fortunately it's more like that. All of the songs are good enough to justify this release. One could argue about the fact, that Jerry Donahue has (re-)recorded his guitar solos nearly 40 years later, but: that's nearly 40 years more of experience as a guitar player, and he's playing better than he already did in the 70s & that means a lot, as you sure all know.


John Fahey - The Yellow Princess Product No: APPR 79293
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Pure Pleasure Records (Vanguard)

A magic reissue of a magic album

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 29, 2007 by Jim Kauffman I still have my original Vanguard pressing of this one, but after 40 years of play it's getting a bit worn. I'm a huge Fahey fan, and this has always been one of my favorites. Now if we could only get the Takoma catalog re-released in such beautiful reproductions!


David Roth - Pearl Diver Product No: ASFR 311
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Stockfisch Records

Beautifully recorded, but...

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 13, 2007 by Marcos I purchased this LP on the strength of the B&W sampler, which both sounded wonderful and contained some really good music from lesser-known artists. (Sara K. aside). Unfortunately, David Roth, while pleasant, is about as mediocre a talent as I can imagine. His songwriting is uninspiring and his rendition of Don McLean's "Vincent" only reminds you of how good Don's version was. Honestly, David should have been cast in the movie "Sideways" as the background guitarist at the Frass Canyon winery. He's that cliche. On the positive side, Stockfisch seems to know something about vinyl that others don't, because the pressing is beautifully mastered with vibrant presence and ultra-quiet surfaces. Too bad about the content. Don't let this put you off from purchasing the B&W sampler, which showcases some really talented people. I don't wonder why they left Roth off of it. Sorry David - you look like a very nice guy, but... get a job.


Doc Watson - Southbound Product No: AVAN 79213
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Cisco (Vanguard Records)

Doc Watson - Southbound

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, January 26, 2005 by Anonymous Excellent playing, excellent sonics, Recommended



Viewing 1 - 20 of 20 Products