Found 28 product(s) that are

In Stock

from the

Original Jazz Classics

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 28 Products
Sonny Rollins - Way Out West Product No: AOJC 337
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

WOW, does this sound good

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 12, 2019 by Anonymous The sax just leaps out of the speaker. The music speaks for itself, I needn't review that here. What a great pressing.


Tony Bennett - Bill Evans - The Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Album Product No: AOJC 439
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

shame...

3 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 14, 2018 by Anonymous Was hoping for better but for this price, guess it was wishful thinking. One of the dirtiest pressings (Fantasy) I have ever seen, vinyl shreds on edge abound. After 3 cleanings with okki nokki (guess I'll try an ultrasonic machine), there's still clicks. Great songs list, through Mr. Bennett seems to be singing in a different key than what I'm used to, which threw me off a bit. Mr. Evans is rock solid sublime as usual...


Art Pepper - + Eleven Product No: AOJC 341
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

It swings!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, May 10, 2017 by Mike I have recently starting exploring jazz and this was a surprise to me. I was expecting more bebop but this album swings with beat, energy, melodies and a real snap in the quality of the mastering and pressing. If you want something with a get off your feet swing and a palpable love of the music this is an album worth buying.


Howard Rumsey's Lighthouse All-Stars - In the Solo Spotlight Product No: AOJC 451
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

Another Great West Coast Jazz LP

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 24, 2016 by Anonymous Wanted to add something to my order for "Music for Lighthousekeeping" so I picked this. This is every bit as good as that album, if not better. Energetic west coast bop, very melodic.

The copy I received from AS had the yellow sticker and was a Fantasy-era OJC pressing. Deadwax markings confirmed it as well. Just thought I would mention this for people that are picky about what type of OJC pressing they buy.


Chet Baker - Chet Product No: AOJC 087
Available: InStock
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

5 Stars for the Music, 3 Stars for the Mastering Job

3 Stars
Posted Friday, June 24, 2016 by Anonymous Just an FYI for anyone thinking about buying this. There is a small, but noticeable DIGITAL GLITCH on "How High the Moon" on this pressing of the LP. In this case QRP's excellent pressing job doesn't matter because whomever mastered this screwed up. Try to find an older pressing. I did, and it doesn't have the glitch. Can't really recommend this version unless a friend is giving it to you for free.


Thelonious Monk - Thelonious Himself Product No: AOJC 254
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

Great Monk

4 Stars
Posted Friday, June 17, 2016 by Anonymous Wonderful Monk LP. Musically great and excellent sound quality. A bit noisy on April in Paris, vinyl is oily looking, but perhaps a cleaning will do the trick raising the score to a 5. Love the music.


The Dave Brubeck Quartet and Paul Desmond - Jazz at the College of the Pacific Product No: AOJC 047
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

low quality

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 2, 2016 by Julius In comparison with other Dave Brubeck LPs this one has very low quality sound.


Haynes, Newborn & Chambers - We Three Product No: AOJC 196
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

3 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 24, 2014 by Anthony The music here is more than satisfying with some very good technique from Phineas Newborn on piano. Unfortunately for a new record, my copy was very noisy with countless background distractions, sounding like it was recorded from a used record instead of a master tape. Still, I'm glad to have this in my collection.


Wes Montgomery - The Incredible Jazz Guitar Product No: AOJC 036
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

3 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 10, 2013 by Anonymous The music is fantastic but the quality of this pressing, sadly does not do it justice.


Max Roach - Deeds, Not Words Product No: AOJC 304
Available: InStock
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

No turntable til next year

5 Stars
Posted Monday, August 12, 2013 by l5chambre Max Roach's album with Clifford Brown was reviewed in Stereophile and is on my wishlist. This what attracted me to this LP. I heard the samples on another site that sells MP3 and quickly added it to my cart. Was a prolific musician and worked with some of the best all time.

I am looking forward to purchasing a Music Hall 5.1 Turntable in the winter. I am now building my collection 1-3 records a month. I am satisfied highly with my purchase and look forward to a dozen LPs in the new year!!


Coleman Hawkins - The Hawk Flies High Product No: AOJC 027
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, April 19, 2011 by Anonymous


John Coltrane - Lush Life Product No: AOJC 131
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

Lush Life

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 11, 2010 by Al Green III This seems to be in my opinion a VERY important to own if you love and respect John Coltrane. I would say if you are a jazz vinyl collector and this isn't apart of the collection yet, do what you can to add it soon.


Sonny Rollins - Saxophone Colossus Product No: AOJC 291
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

Definately worth the purchase

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 11, 2010 by Al Green III I expected what I got, and that was acoustic heaven.

This was an experience that enthusiast should go through at least one time if one is a lover of good music and even better jazz. The mood of the record is Bliss.


Bill Evans Trio - Sunday At The Village Vanguard Product No: AOJC 140
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

A real masterpiece!

4 Stars
Posted Friday, August 20, 2010 by Anonymous I loved this recording; it was superb!


Bill Evans Trio - How My Heart Sings! Product No: AOJC 369
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

A good deal on great music

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 27, 2010 by Anonymous This orginal jazz classic album had great sound quality. I had no issues whatsoever. I find that OJC albums always sound clean with good clarity. Usually I find they play great without needing extraordinary cleaning. Evans version of Brubecks Your Own Sweet Way was why I bought this and it is a treat.


Miles Davis and Milt Jackson - Miles Davis and Milt Jackson Quintet/Sextet Product No: AOJC 012
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

Buy it.

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, May 19, 2010 by Bret Miller I have a majority of Miles catalogue. This one is excellent and a great find for the price. Vibes and Miles mellow tone, but a very bebopp recording.


Miles Davis Quintet - Workin' With The Miles Davis Quintet Product No: AOJC 296
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

His best quintet ever

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, April 28, 2009 by Eddie Kelly This is miles first and greatest quintet.They only lasted 3 years but their music output is timeless.Great individual players that were able to adapt to the music and their leader and yet make their own contributon to the music.Miles was a creative genius and exercise a powerful influence upon each member of his quintet making them play better as a group.Listen and marvel.This is Miles at it's best.


Eric Dolphy - Far Cry Product No: AOJC 400
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

Dolphy at his most Lyrical

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, February 7, 2008 by Greg Lombardo Dolphy has several kinds of appeal: his capacity for rapid up-beat playing in the bee bop mode; intricate interplay with other members of the band, virtuosity on three different instruments with a characteristic style, amazingly tender lyricism, and surprising dissonances and unexpected harmonies in his original compositions. This album exhibits outstanding examples of the first four. The intricate exchanges with Booker Little are one high-point; the solo pieces "Left Alone, and "Tenderly," and "Its Magic" display his capacity for lyricism and his different voices on the flute, sax, and clarinet.


John Coltrane - Soultrane Product No: AOJC 021
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

Continuous Rotation

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 6, 2007 by AM My favourite Coltrane album, the first track Good Bait is everything I like about Jazz and have played it almost to the point of divorce . . .

. . . Straight Vinyl of this is good, so very disappointed I missed the 45 or that there doesnt seem to be a 180g version anywhere.


Bill Evans Trio - Moon Beams Product No: AOJC 434
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

Mass production of an imperfect medium

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, January 31, 2007 by Anonymous First of all let me say this, Bill Evan's "Moon Beans" is lush and ethereal, nothing less than shear acoustic genius. The first LP was warped so badly not on the outer rim, but actually in the grooves of the first cut on side one, as if someone had laid the LP on a paper clip while it was still warm from the press. After returning the defective item and several weeks of waiting, I received another copy of this album only to find the it was defective in the exact same area, with an adjustment of stylus pressure I am able to enjoy this LP. "Moon Beams" is a lovely recording and it truly hurts me more than I'd thought it would to have to be satisfied with a sub standard copy from such a outstanding organization as "Acoustic Sounds Inc." Should I have opted for an "Audiophile" version in the hopes of better quality control?



Viewing 1 - 20 of 28 Products