Sonny Rollins - Way Out West

Over his long and distinguished career, Sonny Rollins has made many dozens of albums. Among those recorded during the 50's, Prestige's Movin's Out and Saxophone Colossus, Blue Note's A Night at the Village Vanguard, Riverside's The Sound of Sonny, and Way Out West on Contemporary qualify as all-time Rollins classics. The session for Way Out West, Rollins' first ever in California, was called for 3 a.m. to accommodate everyone's busy schedules. Sonny, who could never be accused of overstatement, announced after four hours of recording: "I'm Hot Now".

Recorded in 1957.

Sonny Rollins, saxophone (tenor)
Ray Brown, bass
Shelly Manne, drums

1. I'm An Old Cowhand
2. I'm An Old Cowhand (alternate take)
3. Solitude
4. Come, Gone
5. Come, Gone (alternate take)
6. Wagon Wheels
7. There Is No Greater Love
8. Way Out West
9. Way Out West (alternate take)

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

WOW, does this sound good

posted on 01/12/2019
5 Stars
The sax just leaps out of the speaker. The music speaks for itself, I needn't review that here. What a great pressing.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.