Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 39 product(s) that are

Limited Stock

in the

Classical Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 39 Products
Yehudi Menuhin - Bach: Violin Concerto/ Robert Masters Chamber Orchestra/ Christian Ferras Product No: AHMV 346
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (His Master's Voice)

Outstanding pressing and mastering

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, November 23, 2021 by Juan This is a 1960 recording on modern instruments. In terms of interpretation for me is a very good one. But the sound of this pressing is the best that I've heard by quite a big margin. I have the Hi-Q Records 2011 version. This SC record is superior in every aspect. Soundsatage bigger, wider, deeper a taller. The tonality of the instruments are better, as well the microdinamics. The rhythm is easier to follow due to absolutely silent pressing. Anothes plus point over the HI-Q version. It is a pity that this Speakers Corner record is about to be OOP


Dallas Wind Symphony - Horns For The Holidays Product No: CREF 126
Available: LimitedStock
Category: HDCD CD
Label: Reference Recordings

Misfire

1 Stars
Posted Monday, June 8, 2020 by Anonymous Went off the rails here, hate to say about one of my favorite labels. I learned to play all 3 to 4 parts with chords on piano when young for these pieces; knowing the notes well. Jarring notes of really screwy tunings made this one unlistenable and I tried playing on separate days 2 weeks apart in case it was just a bad day, no luck.


Pavel Kogan - Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade Product No: ACCS 2002Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, August 31, 2019 by Anonymous


Carlo Rizzi - Ravel: Ma Mere l'Oye, Tzigane Product No: ATAC L977
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Tacet

A recording of merit.

4 Stars
Posted Sunday, February 22, 2015 by Arturo C Excellent sound and dynamics, not as impressive as the same ensemble and conductor's recording of Ravel's Bolero and La Valse.


Various Artists - Mercury Living Presence Collector's Edition Box Set Product No: ADEC 83190
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Decca

A superb followup to Volume 1

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 12, 2013 by Jonathan This set is the second 6-lp reissue of selected Mercury Living Presence recordings, the initial volume having been released during 2012. The original 2012 set was superb and this followup set is every bit as good as the original. Pressings are uniformly excellent, the sound is clear and well-defined and the transfers to vinyl have obviously been performed with a great deal of care and expertise. An excellent booklet is included which contains a number of interesting photographs I have not seen published anywhere else.

I certainly will not hestitate to purchase any further volumes in this series, but I would hope that the Mercury recordings of Henryk Szeryng are given further consideration, since apart from the Brahms Concerto in Volume 1, so far as I am aware none of his Mercury recordings have ever been reissued onto LP in the "modern" era of audiophile LP reissues.


Louis Fremaux - Offenbach Overtures Product No: AKLALE 517
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Klavier

Lots of fun.

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 1, 2013 by Arturo A good recording and performance for $7.50? Yes indeed, it is very enjoyable light music well performed and recorded for a mere $7.50. Do yourself favor an get it while it lasts. This records were made back in 1973, so the supply must be short.


Jascha Heifetz, Violin / Gregor Piatigorsky, Cello - Brahms: Concerto for Violin & Cello Product No: ALSC 2513
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Cisco (RCA Living Stereo)

Flawless!!!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, May 24, 2013 by Greg D. What an outstanding album! The vinyl is perfect. The recording is well done. The playing is mind blowing!!! These two masters of their instruments do things together that one would have thought impossible. Such a great composition. This is a numbered limited edition pressing. Get this LP now!


Leopold Stokowski - Bartok: Concerto for Orchestra Product No: AEVC 3069Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Great Bartok

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 12, 2013 by Triodeotl Great sound for Everest. If you like Bartok grab this you will like Stokowski's interpretation. Just wait till you hear the harp way off to the left edge of you speaker coming out of the wall.

Recommended.


Pierre Monteux - Dvorak: Symphony No. 2 Product No: ALSC 2489Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (RCA Living Stereo)

Beautiful work and performance. Great recording in parts.

4 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 2, 2013 by Warren This is one of my favourite symphonies, and I was looking forward to hearing this record. Overall I was very satisfied with the performance, and generally with the recording, though it gets strident in a few places. As usual Classic Records' pressing was superb.


Louis Fremaux - Berlioz: A Berlioz Orchestra Spectacular Product No: AKLALE 553
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Klavier

Truly spectacular.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 4, 2013 by Arturo Castaneda This is a real bargain. Excellent EMI recording, first class pressing by RTI at $10.00! What are you waiting for to buy it? Get one, you'll be glad. Just one question, why is a damaged one selling for $20.00 and the undamaged ones sell for half that price?


Ernest Ansermet - Bizet: Carmen Suite, L'Arlesienne Suite Product No: ADEC 2037
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Long Awaited Re-Issue

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 26, 2012 by Triodeotl This is one of the rarest and hardest to find of all of Ansermet LP's. It is also on of the best. This LP is 9 on 10 scale. The sound is so transparent. Buy it now while you still can. Highly recommended. ++++


Michael Rabin - Paganini Caprices Product No: ACAP 8477
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Testament (Capitol)

Your own personal violinist

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, May 9, 2012 by Ant Simon, NZ This is one of the most intimate records I have ever played. If you want a recording of a violinist "playing in a room in your home," this is perfect


Maurice Abravanel - Varese: Ameriques Product No: AVAC 274
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Vanguard)

Great LP of Modern Music

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 13, 2012 by Triodeotl If you liked the Speakers Corner re-issue of "Ionization" on Decca. You will definately want to add this to your collection. Modern but accessable with lots of percussion and horns calling. Wonderful great sound that does not disapoint. The chances of finding an original of this are next to nil.

My copy was totally quiet and the pressing was totally flat. What are you waiting for the cover alone is worth the price of admission. In case you are wondering I am recommending you get it now before it sells out and goes out of print. Or worse yet it gets on one of those lists like the one that I am drawing up to post on the web and then what. The price will skyrocket overnight.

Or just wait until Harry Pearson hears it, then what? I highly recommend this LP for the sound and the music. Don't miss it or you'll be sorry. +++++


Felix Slatkin - Benjamin Britten: Young Person's Guide To The Orchestra / Dohnanyi: Variations On A Nursery Tune Product No: ACIS 8373
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Cisco (Capitol)

Stunning

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 27, 2012 by Triodeotl LP's do not get better than this musically and sonically. This is fun music at the very best with substance. Britten is the best British composer of our century.

Unbelievable recording from Capitol. I mean who would have thought? Its right up there with anything I have heard. A sonic knockout in everyway and deserves a place on the TAS List or anyones list for that matter.

This LP is reason to start your own list so put it on it right now. A masterpiece - - Recommended! +++++


Antal Dorati - Rachmaninoff: Concerto No. 2 in C Minor Product No: AMER 90260
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Another Winner From Team Mercury

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 17, 2012 by Triodeotl This is notably one of the very best performances of the piano concerto #2 on LP. The sound is very transparent and is amongst the best that Mercury ever got at the Northrop Auditorium.

The piano is up front and center and the playing from Janis is exemplary. The playing of the orchestra compliments the piano in every way. This LP has possibly the best balance between the piano and the orchestra I have heard.

My pressing was flat and noise free. Another great Dorati. Do not hesitate to buy this LP. Highly recommended and keep the coming Speakers Corner. +++++


Frederick Fennell - Wagner For Band Product No: AMER 90276
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Recommended TAS List LP

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 14, 2012 by Triodeotl This LP has been a long standing TAS list LP and there is a reason why. Its the sound which has the fullest Mercury sound on record that I have heard and also one of the biggest bass drum sounds ever. Telarc is not match for this.

Reservation is that this is the wedding march on side one but the sound is so big and warm you will not care. If you relish sonic knockouts then you must have this LP in your collection. If you love sound you will be pulling it out all the time to show off you systems bass response and harmonic coherency. Recommended if you love big bass and big sound. A audiophile knockout if there ever was one.

Lets have one round of hands for the Mercury Team and especially Harold Lawrence for allowing this work of art to have taken place. ++++


Maurice Abravanel - Berlioz: Requiem Product No: AVAC 10070Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Vanguard)

Outstanding Performance.

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 23, 2011 by Arturo A good performance and a good recording. Highly recommended.


Leopold Stokowski - Tchaikovsky: Francesca da Rimini/ Hamlet Product No: ADCC 1001
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: DCC

Classic Stokowski.

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, February 20, 2011 by Arturo Castañeda An outstanding performance and a superb recording.


Jean Martinon - Borodin: Symphony No. 2/ Rimsky-Korsakov: Capriccio Espagnole Product No: ALSC 2298Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (RCA Living Stereo)

Martinon cond. London sym

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 23, 2011 by Anonymous have not played but looks pristine


Tauno Hannikainen - Sibelius: Concerto in D Minor Product No: AEVC 3045Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Great Sibelius

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, September 5, 2010 by John P. This is a great sounding and very well played example of the Sibelius only Violin Concerto. I have a half dozen copies of this wonderful concerto and this ranks with the best (even my Heifetz copy). Ditto on the tone poem. Very reasonable price to boot.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 39 Products