Various Artists - Round Midnight Soundtrack

 (Numbered - Limited)





Product No.:
CSON 3250 K2N
UPC: 888837325028
Back Ordered


This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Numbered, limited edition! Very limited quantities!

Only 1,000 numbered copies available!

24-Bit/100kHz mastering! This K2 HD Mastering CD plays on all CD players!

Round Midnight is a soundtrack album by Herbie Hancock featuring music recorded for Bertrand Tavernier's film "Round Midnight" released in 1986 on Columbia Records. The album features performances by Hancock, Freddie Hubbard, Ron Carter, Tony Williams, Bobby McFerrin, Dexter Gordon, Pierre Michelot, Billy Higgins, John McLaughlin, Chet Baker, Bobby Hutcherson, Wayne Shorter, Lonette McKee, and Cedar Walton, most of whom appear in the film. It won the Academy Award for Best Music, Original Score in 1986, against strong competition, most notably Ennio Morricone's The Mission and Jerry Goldsmith's Hoosiers.

"As the lead character, Gordon interprets 'Body and Soul' and a few other pieces that provide appropriate impressions for the story. His acting and playing go hand in hand. Gordon's tenor places Lester Young in the ear and mind's eye of the audience. Billy Higgins and Herbie Hancock anchor a session high in quality and filled with emotion. When the script calls for something eerie, they provide it. By inverting the harmonic structure of Bud Powell's 'Time Waits,' Hancock creates 'Still Time,' which moves soothingly along a fairy-tale path. Daydreams and nightmares come and go, while an all-star jazz cast provides the charm. A twin-tenor battle with Wayne Shorter, a hard bop quintet romp with Freddie Hubbard, and several classic ballads form a memorable soundtrack. As well as paying homage to pioneers Powell and Young, the film's music serves as a tribute to many other bebop, hard bop, and post-bop innovators." — Jim Santella, All About Jazz




1. ‘Round Midnight
2. Body And Soul
3. Berangere’s Nightmare
4. Fair Weather
5. Una Noche Con Francis
6. The Peacocks
7. How Long Has This Been Going On?
8. Rhythm-A-Ning
9. Still Time
10. Minuit Aux Champs-Elysees
11. Chan’s Song (Never Said)

Bonus Track
12. ‘Round Midnight

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it