Ella Fitzgerald - Let No Man Write My Epitaph


Analogue Productions (Verve)



Product No.:
CVRJ 4043 SA
UPC: 753088404368
Back Ordered

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Hybrid Stereo SACD  
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Also available on:
45 RPM Vinyl Record

Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound from the original master tapes to vinyl and PCM. The DSD was sourced from the PCM. George listened to all of the different A/D converters he had before he chose which to use, and he felt the George Massenburg GML 20 bit A/D produced the best and most synergistic sound for the project.

"Since 1977, I've treasured Bernie Grundman's Classic Compact Disc remastering (out of print) of this great collection, initially recorded for the soundtrack of the film "Let No Man Write My Epitaph" (1960). Now that Chad Kassem's Analogue Productions has augmented the late George Marino's 45 RPM remastering, made with the George Massenburg GML 20-bit A/D, with a stereo SACD/CD edition, silver-disc lovers can again enjoy the brilliance of Ella Fitzgerald in her prime, singing 13 great classics. Suprisingly, for a collection that includes Dorothy Fields and Jimmy McHugh's "I Can't Give You Anything But Love (Baby)," and Maxwell Anderson and Kurt Well's "September Song," every close-miked, impeccably voiced performance catches Fitzgerald in a mellow mood. In the face of such great singing, arguments about the depth of her interpretations seem tantamount to Grinches bickering about how best to steal Christmas." — Jason Victor Serinus, Stereophile, February 2014.

A Stereophile 2014 Record to Die For!

Considered one of Ella's greatest recordings, she's backed on this 1960 release by pianist Paul Smith. "Let No Man Write My Epitaph" was a 1960 Hollywood movie featuring Fitzgerald. The album hits at a depth of emotional understanding that critics often complained was missing in Ella's reading of jazz lyrics, and once again establishes her as one of the supreme interpreters of the Great American Songbook.


1. Black Coffee
2. Angel Eyes
3. I Cried for You
4. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
5. Then You've Never Been Blue
6. I Hadn't Anyone Till You
7. My Melancholy Baby
8. Misty
9. September Song
10. One for my Baby (And One More for the Road)
11. Who's Sorry Now
12. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
13. Reach for Tomorrow

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it