Nat 'King' Cole - Penthouse Serenade


Pure Pleasure Records (Capitol)



Product No.:
APPR 332
EAN: 5060149620694
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP  

or Add to Wishlist

"Based upon the diversity of music, quality of product and their extraordinary rate of progress, Pure Pleasure Records is our re-issue record company of the year."
- hi-fi+

"The year after he formally disbanded his trio to turn his attention to vocal pop music, Nat "King" Cole reversed himself and went into the studio with guitarist John Collins, bassist Charlie Harris, and drummer Bunny Shawker and recorded Penthouse Serenade, a quiet, reflective set of standards like "Somebody Loves Me" and "Laura" that he performed instrumentally at the piano. The album confirmed that, whatever success he might be having as a singer, he hadn't lost his touch." – All Music Guide

1. Rose Room
2. I Surrender, Dear
3. Somebody Loves Me
4. It Could Happen To You
5. Polka Dots And Moonbeams
6. Laura
7. If I Should Lose You
8. Once In A Blue Moon
9. Don't Blame Me
10. Penthouse Serenade (When We're Alone)
11. Little Girl
12. Down By The Old Mill Stream
13. Too Marvelous for Words
14. That's My Girl
15. Unforgettable
16. Walkin' My Baby Back Home
17. Too Young
18. It's Only a Paper Moon

Customer Reviews (4.50 Stars) 4 person(s) rated this product.

Simply beautiful throughout... fidelity, pressing and packaging

posted on 03/19/2018
5 Stars
I own a couple dozen Nat King Cole albums, all in very good condition... as well as a box set (speaking of which, I plan to purchase your reissue of "The Nat King Cole Story" box set)... when I saw this one I jumped right on it! What I received was cleary a labor of love by Pure Pleasure. Amazing pressing quality, sublime sound... and this foldout packaging... just WOW. High quality throughout and definitely worth the sale price. These recordings (you get 7 additional tunes on this as a bonus, with Nat on vocals). Get this one!

Great LP

posted on 03/17/2011
4 Stars
Reviewer: pvk
My second LP from Pure Pleasure and another hit. High quality pressing and great sound quality. I'll be looking for more from this label.

Fabulous vocal-free jazz from Nat

posted on 08/21/2009
4 Stars
Reviewer: benjah
Amazing jazz even if you don't like him; a must-have if you've got the Nat soft spot. Amazing recording sounds great. 4.5 stars.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.