Various Artists - Nagra

 (Limited Edition Numbered 2 x Reel To Reel Tape)


Fidelio 2xHD



Product No.:
RR2X 1223
UPC: 632726373535
In Stock

1/4 Inch - 15 IPS Tape

New Arrival

Numbered Limited Edition master quality metal reel ( 2 reels)

Deluxe 2 Tape Edition!

Duplication AAA from the analog master!

Recorded at 15 ips in CCIR!

One of the world's audiophile innovators collaborated with 2xHD for this musical selection to celebrate this important milestone. The double tape feature tracks from Bill Evans, Louis Armstrong, Monty Alexander and Buddy Tate along with some amazing audiophile tracks recorded on the legendary Nagra IV-S tape machine.

The package includes two audiophile SM900 tapes recorded at 15 ips in CCIR (also available in NAB), on two balanced metal reels red and silver with the NAGRA logo manufactured in Germany by Feinwerktechnik allgäu GmbH and an elegant booklet with NAGRA products history.

Based in Montreal and created by audiophile sound engineer René Laflamme and producer André Perry, all 2xHD Tapes are from the original analog master and transfer in analog domain using a Nagra-T tape recorder, modified with high-end tube playback electronics, wired from the playback head. In the high end audio world, Laflamme  has carved out a reputation for definition of excellence and uses his knowledge and unfailing instinct to match various audio components to create the best all-encompassing sound experience.

For the recording on this tape, the original 1/4" 15 ips NAB or CCIR master tapes were played on a Nagra-T tape recorder, modified wtih high-end tube playback electronics, wired with OCC silver cable from the playback head direct to a Nick Doshi tube head preamplifier. The Nagra T, with its four direct drive motors, two pinch rollers and a tape tension head, is one of the best transports ever made. A custom-built carbon fiber head block and a head damping electronic system permit 2xHD Fusion to obtain more transparency and better 3D imaging. This copy was recorded on a Nagra IV-S 1/4" at 15 ips.

Deluxe Edition
Two master quality reel to reel tapes
2xHD Mastering by René Laflamme on NAGRA équipements.
Pure analog copy at 15 ips, CCIR EQ, from the analog master tape
Two audiophile SM 900 tapes
Two balanced metal reels made in Germany by Feinwerktechnik allgäu GmbH Metal Reels
Elegant Booklet
Made in Canada



Tape 1 - Red
1. BILL EVANS (Recorded in 1968) Very Early, Album: Some Other Time (Resonance-2xHD) 05:15
2. PILTCH AND DAVIS (Recorded in 1996) Horizontal Blue, Album: Take One (2xHD)
3. BUDDY TATE (Recorded in 1975) 06:10 Stardust, Album: I Cried for You (Jazzology-2xHD) 04:13
4. SHIRLEY HORN (Recorded in 1987) Dindi, Album: Softly (Jazzology-2xHD)
5. LOUIS ARMSTRONG (Recorded in 1961) ........06:11 C'est si bon, Album: Now You Has Jazz (Storyville-2xHD) 03:19
6. MARLENE VERPLANCK (recorded in 1955) Deep in a Dream, Album: I Think of You With Every Breath I Take 06:03 Rudy Van Gelder rec. (Jazzology-2xHD)
Tape 2 - Silver
1. THE L.A. NETWORK (Recorded in 1996) Take 5, Album: Dave Brubeck Redux (Resonance-2xHD). .05:11
2. MONTY ALEXANDER TRIO (Recorded in 1982) Samba de Orfeu, Album: Love You Madly (Resonance-2xHD)..... 06:18
3. DRUM SOUND CHECK (Recorded in 2021) Dynamics demo..... 01:30 Recorded by Matthieu Latour on a Nagra IV-S with a pair of Neumann U-87.
4. MARC VALLÉE TRIO (Recorded in 2003) Cameleon, Album: Hamadryade (Fidelio-2xHD). 05:24 Recorded by René Laflamme on a Nagra IV-S with a Fidelio RL-1 custom tube microphone in M-S technique.
5. OSL (Recorded in 2020) The Soldier's March, Igor Stravinsky, 01:54 Live recording (2xHD) Recorded by Rene Laflamme on a Nagra IV-S with only one microphone (Neumann SM-69 tube)
7. BUZZ BRASS/MELANIE BARNEY (Recorded in 2011) Mercury, the winged messenger, Album: The Planets, Holst 04:51 (Fidelio-2xHD)Recorded by Rene Laflamme on an Ampex 354 with Neumann U67 and B&K 4003
8. FREDERIC ALARIE (Recorded in 2000) George, Album: Mega Bass (Fidelio-2xHD)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it