Yo La Tengo - I Can Hear The Heart Beating As One

 (25th Anniversary Limited Edition Yellow Vinyl)

Yo La Tengo - I Can Hear The Heart Beating As One





Product No.:
AMAT 222
UPC: 744861022268
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record

Limited 25th Anniversary edition opaque yellow 2LP

A limited opaque yellow 2LP edition of Yo La Tengo's monumental I Can Hear The Heart Beating As One for the album's 25th anniversary. "A stone cold classic" (Rolling Stone) by "the greatest band in the universe" (Pitchfork), the new pressing kicks off Matador's 2022 Revisionist History catalog campaign alongside a new edition of Pavement's debut Slanted and Enchanted. Yo La Tengo's anniversary celebration includes a new interview on Matador's podcast, new press, a new director's cut of the "Sugarcube" music video featuring David Cross and Bob Odenkirk, and much more.

Yo La Tengo began life as one among hundreds of Velvet Underground-inspired bands, banging out dark, skittish tunes that displayed YLT guitarist/vocalist Ira Kaplan's affection for Uncle Lou. The band, which also features Kaplan's wife Georgia Hubley on drums and vocals, has gone through more identity changes than David Bowie, from acoustic folk-rock to wailing, Sonic Youth-like guitarchitecture.

On this album, the band consolidates their sound as they expand it, incorporating bossa nova, electronica and '60s pop into a gorgeous shimmering whole that is something more than the sum of its parts. The laconic-but-expressive vocals of Kaplan and Hubley provide the songs with just the right combination of detachment and naivete, and the trio (which also includes bassist James McNew) sounds like one person with six arms, three brains and one big heart.


Side A
1. Return to Hot Chicken
2. Moby Octopad
3. Sugarcube
4. Damage

Side B
1. Deeper Into Movies
2. Shadows
3. Stockholm Syndrome
4. Autumn Sweater
5. Little Honda

Side C
1. Green Arrow
2. One PM Again
3. The Life and How We Told It
4. Center of Gravity

Side D
1. Spec Bebop
2. We’re An American Band
3. My Little Corner of the World

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it