William S. Fischer - Circles

 ("Black Ice" Vinyl )


Real Gone Music



Product No.:
ARGM 1329
UPC: 848064013297
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record

Original Price: $29.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

All Sales Final on This Item

or Add to Wishlist

First-ever vinyl reissue on "black ice" colored vinyl

Limited to 2,000 copies

With circle die-cut stencil cover

Liner notes by Peter Relic w/ quotes from William S. Fischer himself!

"Moog Madness" meets acid rock, orchestral funk and gospel soul on one-of-a-kind 1970 album!

1970 was a time for heady experimentation in popular music, but very few records "and even fewer on major labels" come close to matching the stylistic ground covered by William S. Fischer's album Circles. African-American composer/arranger/keyboardist/saxophonist William S. Fischer grew up woodshedding with the likes of Ray Charles, Fats Domino, Muddy Waters, and Percy Mayfield'and then took a sudden left turn by studying electronic music in Vienna during the mid-'60s. There, he met Joe Zawinul, and ended up penning five of the six tunes on Zawinul's groundbreaking 1968 album The Rise and Fall of the Third Stream.

Fischer went on to arrange for Herbie Mann, who signed him to his Embryo imprint for Atlantic Records; Circles was Fischer's one and only release for the label. And he didn't waste the opportunity; an utterly mindblowing mix of Sly Stone funk, heavy Hendrix-y metal, Southern soul, jazz fusion, and Stockhausen-esque explorations on the Moog synthesizer, Circles enlisted the same band (bassist Ron Carter, guitarists Eric Weissberg and Hugh McCracken) that Fischer had worked with while acting as Musical Director on Eugene McDaniels' underground classic Outlaw, complemented by drummer Billy Cobham and a five-piece cello section. With a line-up like that, it's little wonder that the artistic reach of Circles is breathtaking, but it somehow manages to cohere according to its own internal, crazy logic; it remains one of the most adventuresome and collectible releases of its day. For this, its first-ever vinyl reissue, we've pressed 2,000 copies in "black ice" vinyl, preserved the original circle cut-out stencil cover, and added liner notes by Peter Relic that feature quotes from Fischer himself. For the intrepid listener!

Side A
1. Patience Is Virtue
2. Saigon
3. Electrix
4. Chains

Side B
1. There’s a Light That Shines
2. Circle
3. Green Forever
4. Capsule

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it