Lorde - Solar Power


Republic Records



Product No.:
ARPB 3817648
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist


Grammy winner and multiplatinum artist Lorde returns with Solar Power, new single

"Her first new single since 2017's Melodrama flips the script as surely as summer overturns winter. It's a soft-touch anthem for the seasons's simple pleasures: Warm sun, warm sand, a boyfriend who will take your picture for the 'gram, and the impunity to turn down plans you weren't excited about anyway. The sun is out; FOMO (Fear of Missing Out) is back. Welcome to Lorde season." — Pitchfork

Grammy-winning, multiplatinum singer-songwriter Lorde's return to music with her 2021 album Solar Power — and its racy cover image — has been nothing short of glorious. The album's title track "Solar Power," which appropriately dropped timed to the only solar eclipse of the year, and came with the announcement of her highly anticipated third studio album by the same name, includes 12 tracks produced by Jack Antonoff who she collaborated with on her chart-topping last album, Melodrama.

About that low-angle cover image — Lorde in a thong bikini with cheeks the color of a sunny high noon — she says the snap taken by a close friend "felt innocent and playful and a little bit feral." Delirious joy marks the music, embracing a significantly sunnier state of mind. "Solar Power" features Phoebe Bridgers and Clairo on backing vocals. Its percussion-heavy, George Michael-esque climax explodes with transcendental euphoria.

1. The Path
2. Solar Power
3. California
4. Stoned in the Nail Salon
5. Fallen Fruit
6. Secrets from a Girl (Who's Seen It All)
7. The Man With an Axe
8. Dominoes
9. Big Star
10. Leader of a New Regime
11. Mood Ring
12. Oceanic Feeling

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it