Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon - Noon

 (Gold/Red Vinyl)

Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon - Noon


ATO Records



Product No.:
AATO 4619
UPC: 880882424619
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

New studio album from acoustic guitar pioneer Leo Kottke and Phish bassist Mike Gordon

Their first new album together in 15 years!

Red/gold split colored vinyl with 11 new tracks!

Intricate, warmly askew, and indelibly dexterous, Noon showcases 11 new tracks. The album — which marks Leo Kottke's first studio record since his previous collaboration with Phish bassist Mike Gordon, 2005's 66 Steps — was recorded in New Orleans and Vermont, with music exchanged between the two artists by file, tape-sealed boombox, sheet music, and face-to-face.

Working with longtime Gordon collaborator, producer/engineer Jared Slomoff, Kottke and Gordon have crafted a singular collection of improvisational mood music, including a stripped-back version of Gordon's classic "Peel" and Kottke's stark rethinking of the Byrds' "Eight Miles High."

Noon further includes a bopping cover of Prince's "Alphabet St." featuring Phish drummer Jon Fishman, who also joins Kottke and Gordon on four additional tracks. In addition, the LP includes nearly ambient appearances by pedal steel player Brett Lanier (The Barr Brothers) and cellist Zoë Keating (Imogen Heap, Amanda Palmer, Tears For Fears).

Side A
1. Flat Top
2. Eight Miles High
3. I Am Random
4. Noon To Noon
5. From The Cradle To The Grave

Side B
1. How Many People Are You
2. Ants
3. Sheets
4. Alphabet St.
5. Peel
6. The Only One

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it