Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Joe Hisaishi - Princess Mononoke

 (Remastered Limited Edition Japanese Import Symphonic Suite Album with OBI Strip)


Remastered limited edition Japanese import symphonic suite album with OBI strip!

For the first time, the soundtrack for the 1997 animated classic Princess Mononoke will be available on vinyl. And not just in one form, either — Studio Ghibli and Norman Records are releasing three different editions of the soundtrack on July 24, 2020.

As The Vinyl Factory notes, these include the original score by composer Joe Hisaishi as it appeared on film; a 1998 symphonic suite that Hisaishi arranged for performance by the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra; and the promotional "Image" album, common in Japan, in which actors perform songs as their characters to give a sense of their personalities.

All three musical editions have been remastered, and same goes for the theme song sung by Yoshikazu Mera.

Studio Ghibli has slowly been releasing vinyl editions of music from its classic movies. In 2018, they pressed LPs of My Neighbor Totoro, Castle in the Sky, and Nausicaä of the Valley of Wind for the first time. All three were also composed by Joe Hisaishi.

Side A
1. 1st movement The Legend of Ashitaka
2. 2nd movement TA TA RI GAMI (The Demon God)
3. 3rd movement The Journey to the West
4. 4th movement Mononoke Hime

Side B
5. 5th movement The Forest of the Deer God
6. 6th movement Requiem – The Demon Power
7. 7th movement The World of the Dead – Adagio of Life and Death
8. 8th movement Ashitaka and San

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it