Willie Nelson - First Rose Of Spring





Product No.:
ALEG 67010
UPC: 194397367010
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist


Willie Nelson's new studio album coming April 2020!

Debuts two new songs co-written with Buddy Cannon: "Blue Star" and "Love Just Laughed"

"First Rose Of Spring," is the first single and title track to a new solo studio album (Willie's 70th!) from the time-defying legend, who turns 87 on April 29, 2020.

An atmospheric soulful showcase of beautifully-written songs and poignant performances, First Rose Of Spring is the artist's first new release since winning the 2020 Best Country Solo Performance Grammy Award — Willie's 10th overall, not including his Grammy Legend and Lifetime Achievement Awards — for "Ride Me Back Home," the title track from his 2019 Legacy Recordings release. The previous year, My Way, Willie's musical homage to Frank Sinatra took home the Grammy for Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album.

Premiering 11 new Willie Nelson studio performances and featuring original artwork created by Willie's son Micah, First Rose Of Spring finds Willie working again with longtime friend and producer Buddy Cannon and debuts two new songs co-written by the pair: "Blue Star" and "Love Just Laughed."

Alongside his new compositions on the album, Willie pays musical tribute to a variety of pop and country songwriters and performers, interpreting songs penned by Toby Keith ("Don't Let The Old Man In"), Billy Joe Shaver ("We Are The Cowboys") and Pete Graves ("Just Bummin' Around" — a song recorded by Jimmy Dean, Dean Martin and others).

An intimate journey through life and love as seen through Willie's unique perspective, First Rose Of Spring finds the artist deep in every moment, sharing profound insights and experiences through songs he's written and songs he loves to sing. Among the younger songwriters celebrated on First Rose Of Spring are the composing teams Randy Houser, Allen Shamblin & Mark Beeson ("First Rose Of Spring") and Marla Cannon-Goodman, Casey Beathard & Don Sampson ("Stealing Home").



Side 1
1. First Rose of Spring
2. Blue Star
3. I'll Break Out Again Tonight
4. Don't Let the Old Man In
5. Just Bummin' Around
6. Our Song

Side 2
1. We Are the Cowboys
2. Stealing Home
3. I'm the Only Hell My Mama Ever Raised
4. Love Just Laughed
5. Yesterday When I Was Young (Hier Encore)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it