Joe Hisaishi - Porco Rosso

 (Remastered Soundtrack with OBI Strip)


Studio Ghibli Records



Product No.:
ASTGH 10023
EAN: 4988008087512
In Stock

Vinyl Record

Original Price: $46.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Vinyl Record
Remastered Image Album with OBI Strip

Famed Studio Ghibli film score available on vinyl for the first time!

Remastered audio, includes OBI Strip

New York record shop Turntable Lab's in-house label will be overseeing the release of composer Joe Hisaishi's remastered scores for 1989's Kiki's Delivery Service and 1992's Porco Rosso.

For Porco Rosso Hisaishi teamed up with a 70-piece orchestra for the recording; the new vinyl edition also includes two vocal tracks, this time sung by Tokiko Kato.

Master animator Hayao Miyazaki wrote and directed the 1992 film Porco Rosso. The plot follows an italian WWI fighter pilot who currently works as a bounty hunter, and his clashes with air pirates over the Adriatic Sea. However, a curse has turned him into an anthromorphic pig, earning him the nickname of "Porco Rosso" (italian for "Red Pig".) It features many homages to early aviation, and is one of the few Ghibli films set in an identifiable real world place and point in history. The score was again composed by Joe Hisaishi and performed by a 70 piece orchestra, giving a quaint and quirky sonic backdrop for Miyazaki's incredible hand-drawn animation. Features two vocal tracks ("The Time Of The Cherries", sung by Tokiko Kato which also feature arrangements by Yoko Kanno. (Cowboy Bebop, Macross Plus, ∀ Gundam). The jacket features new artwork, and this LP includes an obi strip.

Side A:
1. The Wind Of Ages - When A Human Can Be A Human
3. Addio!
4. Bygone Days
5. A Picture In Sepia
6. Serbian March
7. Flying Boatmen
8. Doom - Trap Of Clouds
9. Porco E Bella
10. Fio - Seventeen
11. Women Of Piccolo
12. Friend
13. Partnership

Side B:
1. To The Adriatic Sea
2. In Search Of The Distant Era
3. Love At The First Sight In The Wildness
4. At The End Of The Summer
6. Dog Fight
7. Porco E Bella - Ending
9. Sometimes Old Stories

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it