Alfredo Campoli - Encores


Analogphonic (Decca)



Product No.:
ADEC 43128
EAN: 8808678161281
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Alfredo Campoli Encores Vol. 1 & 2 180-gram vinyl

Mastered from the original masters of Universal Music

Pressed at Pallas in Germany

Violinist Alfredo Campoli is accompanied by Eric Gritton for this recording of Encores by Schubert, Albeniz, Mendelssohn, Elgar, Debussy and more.

Combines two 10" records on single 12" record. (Decca LW5180 + LW5242)

"A succession of encore pieces, all played with the utmost enchantment; and with the three more sentimental show-stoppers isolated on side one — so that we have no need to break the mood unless we wish. In search of more athletic achievement, we can turn over; here I think perhaps the Albeniz Tango might have been a little less athletic, a little more sentimental (and how on earth does it take two people to arrange the Fiocco piece? — the credit reads almost like one of those committees that write the not-so-good pop songs).

"But the search for athleticism is rewarded so fully in "The Bee," and for sentiment so fully in the Fibich, Ponce, and Drdla: this is indubitably how to play encores. And, bar a surely unnecessary tape-join in the Fibich, how to record them — a winning sound; and a sensible disposition of the whole on a medium-play. (for Vol.1)

"He combines a knowledge of such pieces with a matured classical technique as does no other violinist I can think of, and he plays the music with sympathy and affection and immense skill. The Drdla sounds quite ravishingly beautiful... and the recording is very good indeed. (for Vol..2)" — Gramophone

• Audiophile 180-gram virgin vinyl
• Pressed at Pallas GmbH in Germany
• Audiophile analogue mastering by Rainer Maillard at Emil Berliner Studios in Berlin
• Mastered from the Original Masters of Universal Music
• Combines two 10" records on one 12" vinyl LP
• Analogphonic release

Alfredo Campoli, violin
Eric Gritton, piano


Side A:
1. Poeme
2. Estrellita
3. Souvenir
4. Allegro
5. The Bee
6. Tango
7. Midnight Bells

Side B:
1. On Wings of Song
2. Valse Bluette
3. La Capricieuse
4. From The Canebrake
5. Deep River
6. Minstrels

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it