Big Brother & The Holding Company - Sex, Dope And Cheap Thrills





Product No.:
ALEG 35316
UPC: 190758635316
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

The controversial original title restored!

Double LP featuring alternate takes from the classic 1968 album sessions!

13 previously unreleased recordings!

Includes versions of "Piece Of My Heart," "Summertime," "Ball And Chain" and more!

2018 marks the 50th anniversary of Big Brother & The Holding Company's iconic second studio album and major label debut Cheap Thrills, which featured and introduced the world to one of the most recognizable female vocalists in rock history, Janis Joplin. To commemorate this anniversary, Legacy will be releasing Sex, Dope and Cheap Thrills — named after the originally intended title for the 1968 album which was rejected by the label for being too controversial for the time.

Sex, Dope and Cheap Thrills features 30 rare performances from the original album sessions, 25 of which are previously unreleased, including unheard versions of favorites such as "Summertime," "I Need a Man to Love" and the smash hit "Piece of My Heart." Sex, Dope and Cheap Thrills also features liner notes penned especially for this commemorative release by Jefferson Airplane frontwoman Grace Slick and Big Brother & The Holding Company drummer David Getz.

LP 1
Side A
1. Combination of The Two (Demo)
2. I Need A Man To Love (Take 3)
3. Summertime (Take 2)
4. Piece Of My Heart (Take 6)
Side B
1. Harry (Take 10)
2. Turtle Blues (Take 4)
3. Oh, Sweet Mary
4. Ball And Chain (live, The Winterland Ballroom, April 12, 1968)

LP 2
Side C
1. Roadblock (Take 1)
2. Magic Of Love (Take 1)
3. Oh Sweet Mary
4. Flower In The Sun (Take 3)
Side D
1. Catch Me Daddy (Take 1)
2. Turtle Blues (Take 9)
3. How Many Times Blues Jam
4. Farewell Song (Take 5)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it