Cat Power - The Covers Record





Product No.:
AMAT 104261
UPC: 744861042600
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Cat Power’s Chan (pronounced "Shawn") Marshall exists on a plane somewhat different than yours or mine, as anybody who has heard her sing knows. Her voice is unlike anyone you’ve heard before, combining raw intimacy with a gruff, chalky confidence, and while any attempt to interpret her lyrics comes up short, their plain-spoken lines belie an otherworldly perspective on primal human emotions. She’s abstract, but always honest and true. That awareness has caused a tidal wave of adulation for Chan from her giant fan base, one that has tripled with each new record released.

On The Covers Record, Chan applies her remarkable interpretive skills to a wide variety of influences, accompanying herself on only piano or guitar. Almost gruesome in its melancholy, she de/reconstructs these songs often to the point of unrecognizability. The result is a striking record, a masterpiece of mood, and another wonderful display of her extraordinary personality. The artists covered include Bob Dylan, Moby Grape, Nina Simone and The Rolling Stones.

Side A
1. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
2. Kingsport Town
3. Troubled Waters
4. Naked, If I Want To
5. Sweedeedee
6. In This Hole

Side B
1. I Found a Reason
2. Wild Is the Wind
3. Red Apples
4. Paths of Victory
5. Salty Dog
6. Sea of Love

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it