The Band - Music From Big Pink

 (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)


Landmark 1968 album remixed in stereo

50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 45 RPM 2LP!

Produced by Bob Clearmountain from the original 4-track analog masters

Audio mixes mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering

Lacquers cut at 45 RPM by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering

Ranked No. 34 on Rolling Stone's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time

On July 1, 1968, The Band's landmark debut album, Music from Big Pink, seemed to spring from nowhere and everywhere. Drawing from the American roots music panoply of country, blues, R&B, gospel, soul, rockabilly, the honking tenor sax tradition, hymns, funeral dirges, brass band music, folk, and rock ‘n' roll, The Band forged a timeless new style that forever changed the course of popular music. Fifty years later, the mythology surrounding Music from Big Pink lives on through the evocative storytelling of its songs including "The Weight," "This Wheel's On Fire," "Tears of Rage," and "To Kingdom Come," its enigmatic cover art painted by Bob Dylan, the salmon-colored upstate New York house — "Big Pink" — where The Band wrote the songs, and in myriad descendant legends carried forth since the album's stunning arrival.

All the Anniversary Edition configurations feature a new stereo mix for the album, produced by Bob Clearmountain from the original 4-track analog masters, achieving a striking clarity and incorporating some previously unreleased chatter from the studio sessions.

All the new audio mixes have been mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering. For the album's new vinyl editions, Chris Bellman cut the vinyl lacquers for the album's new stereo mix at 45 RPM at Bernie Grundman Mastering, expanding the album's vinyl footprint from one LP to two. The black vinyl LPs were pressed at GZ Vinyl / Precision.

1. Tears Of Rage
2. To Kingdom Come
3. In A Station
4. Caledonia Mission
5. The Weight
6. We Can Talk
7. Long Black Veil
8. Chest Fever
9. Lonesome Suzie
10. This Wheel's On Fire
11. I Shall Be Released

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it