Dusty Springfield - Dusty In Memphis


Analogue Productions (Atlantic 75 Series)



Product No.:
AAPA 017-45
UPC: 753088751776
Pre Order

45 RPM Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
Note: 180 Gram
To Be Announced

45 RPM  
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
45 RPM Vinyl Record
180 Gram Vinyl Record
Limited Deluxe Edition

Vinyl Record
Limited Edition Clear Vinyl

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Analogue Productions (Atlantic 75 Series)

Celebrating the 75th Anniversary of Atlantic Records!

A classic by England's female soul queen!

180-gram 45 RPM double LP

Mastered directly from the original master tape by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio

Pressed at Quality Record Pressings

Tip-on old style gatefold double pocket jacket by Stoughton Printing

Dusty Springfield shares rarified air with the top soul/R&B queens of the post-WWII era — Aretha Franklin, Etta James, and others.

Originally released in 1969, the concept for Dusty In Memphis was to take England's reigning female soul queen to the home of the music which had inspired her. Produced by Atlantic's Jerry Wexler and Arif Mardin and engineered by Tom Dowd, the record's highlights include "Son Of A Preacher Man," "So Much Love," "Breakfast In Bed," "Just One Smile," "I Don't Want To Hear It Anymore" and "Just A Little Lovin'".

Springfield is backed by a crack band that had previously worked with Aretha Franklin, Wilson Pickett, King Curtis and Elvis Presley among others. The musicians — collectively known as the Memphis Cats — include guitarist Reggie Young, bassist Tommy Cogbill, drummer Gene Chrismann, pianist Bobby Wood and Bobby Emmons on organ and electric piano. Songwriting contributions came from, among others, Randy Newman, Carole King, Gerry Goffin, Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil. Dusty Springfield is one of the finest white soul singers of her era, and this is the undisputed proof.

Analogue Production's reissue here is perfection. Mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tape. Double LP cut at 45 RPM, pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Quality Record Pressings, and housed in a Stoughton Printing tip-on old style gatefold jacket.


Side A
1. Just A Little Lovin'
2. So Much Love
3. Son Of A Preacher Man

Side B
1. I Don't Want To Hear It Anymore
2. Don't Forget About Me
3. Breakfast In Bed

Side C
1. Just One Smile
2. The Windmills Of Your Mind
3. In The Land Of Make Believe
4. No Easy Way Down

Side D
1. I Can't Make It Alone
2. Willie And Laura Mae Jones*
3. That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho)*
4. What Do You Do When Love Dies*

* = Bonus Tracks

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it