Death Cab for Cutie - Thank You For Today

 (+ Download Code)





Product No.:
ABAR 180
UPC: 655173118016
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist


Death Cab for Cutie's ninth full-length album

"A benchmark DCFC record and, barring a surprise drop from The National, the most immersive alt-rock album you'll hear all year." — The Independent (U.K.) 

Death Cab for Cutie grapple with the inevitability of change in the video for their new song "Gold Rush." The track marks the first single off the group's album Thank You for Today, out August 17, 2018 via Atlantic.

Thank You for Today follows Death Cab for Cutie's 2015 album Kintsugi. The record was produced and mixed by Rich Costey, who also helmed Kintsugi. Thank You for Today also marks the first time Death Cab's core lineup — Gibbard, Nick Harmer and Jason McGerr — recorded in the studio with touring members Dave Depper and and Zac Rae.

"Gold Rush" adds a sort of neo-psychedelic momentum to the band's typical indie pop thrust, no doubt coming from the sample of Yoko Ono's "Mind Train" that forms the bedrock of the song. While voices repeat the song title in the background, Ben Gibbard sings a "requiem for a skyline," an elegiac ode to modernization and gentrification. Director Alex Southam emphasizes that feeling by filming Gibbard as he walks past people on a the street; as their garb becomes more modern, their numbers increase, until the frontman is swallowed up by a sea of cell-phone facing pedestrians.

180-gram heavyweight vinyl
Includes "Gold Rush," "Northern Lights" and "When We Drive"
Limited time album download included

Side 1
I Dreamt We Spoke Again
Summer Years
Gold Rush
Your Hurricane
When We Drive

Side 2
Autumn Love
Northern Lights
You Moved Away
60 & Punk

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it