Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Tower Of Power - Soul Side Of Town

 (+ Download Code)





Product No.:
AATY 7059
UPC: 181475705918
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Marking the band's 50th anniversary!

All new original songs

Featuring "Hangin' With My Baby," "On The Soul Side Of Town" and "Can't Stop Thinking About You"

Limited time album download included

Formed in 1968 in Oakland, soul-funk 10-piece Tower of Power celebrates its 50th anniversary this year. To mark their milestone anniversary, the band is releasing a new album of original tunes Soul Side of Town.

Tenor sax player and vocalist, and founding member, Emilio Castillo, and fellow founding member and baritone saxophone player Stephen "Doc" Kupka write a majority of Tower of Power's music, but both also write with the other members of the band and work with outside collaborators from time to time.

"It's a lot of different writing coming from a lot of different directions but we don't ever sit down, all 10 of us, and write," Castillo said. "Although when I recorded, we did some jam sessions at the end of the day with the rhythm section and I turned four of those into songs later."

Castillo said there is no theme to either Soul Side of Town or a second new as yet unnamed album out later this year, and the band tried to get a good mix of tempos and genres, from ballads to funk tunes, on each album.


1. East Bay! All Day!
2. Hangin’ With My Baby
3. Do You Like That>
4. On The Soul Side Of Town
5. Do It With Soul
6. Love Must Be Patient And Kind
7. Butter Fried
8. Selah
9. Let it Go
10. Stop
11. When Love Takes Control
12. After Hours
13. Can’t Stop Thinking About You
14. East Bay! Oakland Style!

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it