Brian Eno - Music For Installations

 (9 LPs + Book)





Product No.:
AASW 40754
UPC: 602567240754
In Stock

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 9


or Add to Wishlist

Super Deluxe 9LP box set with new, rare and unreleased tracks!

Featuring music from Eno's Installations — 1986 to 2017

Included 64-page booklet contains Eno-written essay

Available on vinyl for the first time!

Limited time download card included

Musician, producer, visual artist, thinker and activist Brian Eno first came to international prominence in the early '70s as a founding member of Roxy Music, and immediately followed that with a series of critically-praised and influential solo albums. His visionary production work includes albums with David Bowie, Talking Heads, Devo, Laurie Anderson and Coldplay, while his long list of collaborations includes recordings with John Cale, David Byrne, Grace Jones and James Blake.

Less widely discussed, though equally notable and arguably even more prolific, are his visual experiments with light and video. These are the fertile ground from which so much of his other work has grown; they cover an even longer span of time than his recordings, and have in recent decades paralleled his musical output. These highly-acclaimed works have been exhibited all over the globe — from the Venice Biennale and the Marble Palace in St Petersburg to Beijing's Ritan Park and the sails of the Sydney Opera House.

Brian Eno said of the collection: "If you think of music as a moving, changing form, and painting as a still form, what I'm trying to do is make very still music and paintings that move. I'm trying to find in both of those forms, the space in between the traditional concept of music and the traditional concept of painting."

Music For Installations is a collection of new, rare and previously unreleased tracks, all of which will be available on vinyl for the first time. All of the material was recorded by Eno for use in his installations covering the period from 1986 until the present (and beyond!). Over this time he has emerged as the leading exponent of generative music worldwide and is recognized as one of the foremost audio-visual installation artists of his time.

Designed by Eno and long-time collaborator Nick Robertson, this beautifully bound package comes with a 64-page booklet featuring rare and unseen exhibition photographs and a new essay written by Eno himself.


LP1 : Music From Installations
1 A1: Kazakhstan
2 B1: The Ritan Bells

LP2 : Music From Installations
1 C1: Five Light Paintings
2 D1: Flower Bells

LP3 : 77 Million Paintings
1 A1: 77 Million Paintings – Part 1
2 B1: 77 Million Paintings – Part 2

LP4 : Lightness – Music For The Marble Palace
1 A1: Atmospheric Lightness – Part 1
2 B1: Atmospheric Lightness – Part 2

LP5 : Lightness – Music For The Marble Palace
1 C1: Chamber Lightness – Part 1
2 D1: Chamber Lightness – Part 2

LP6 – I Dormienti
1 A1: I Dormienti – Part 1
2 B1: I Dormienti – Part 2

LP7 – Kite Stories
1 A1: Kites I
2 A2: Kites II
3 B1: Kites III

LP8 – Making Space
1 A1. Needle Click
2 A2. Light Legs
3 A3. Flora and Fauna / Gleise 581d
4 A4. New Moons
5 A5. Vanadium
6 A6. All The Stars Were Out
7 B1. Hopeful Timean Intersect
8 B2. World Without Wind
9 B3. Delightful Universe (seen from above)

LP9 – Music For Future Installations
1 A1: Unnoticed Planet
2 A2: Liquidambar
3 A3: Sour Evening ( Complex Heaven 3 )
4 B1: Surbahar Sleeping Music

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it