Francoise Hardy - Personne d'Autre


Arts Music



Product No.:
AART 567904
UPC: 190295680152
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Iconic French vocalist returns with first album in six years!

French singer-songwriter and fashion icon Francoise Hardy presents her 24th studio album vinyl LP, her first in six years.

Hardy achieved immediate success in the early 1960s with her million-selling debut Tous les garçons et les filles on the Vogue label. The eternally chic pop star and actress found herself at the forefront of the French music scene, as a leading figure of the influential yé-yé movement. Mick Jagger once described Hardy as his "ideal woman," Bob Dylan dedicated a poem to her, and she has worked alongside greats such as Leonard Cohen, Serge Gainsbourg, Michel Berger, and Patrick Modiano. To this day she remains one of France's most iconic singers.

Personne d'autre features 10 original songs — including one sung in English, "You're My Home" penned by Yael Naim-, a cover of Michel Berger's seras-tu là and an adaptation of Finnish band Poet Of The Fall's "Sleep." Of the album, Françoise Hardy said — "For many-very reasonable-reasons, I wasn't planning on making another album. Circumstances decided otherwise, starting with me falling in love with a song I heard completely by chance, 'Sleep' by Finnish band Poets of the Fall. I played it to Erick Benzi who enjoyed it, then to my surprise sent me several beautiful melodies of his own composition that inspired me to write some lyrics.

"La Grande Sophie, who knew that I had started writing again, emailed me out of the blue a wonderful song called 'Le Large (Sail Away),' Pascale Daniel came to me with a haunting melody, then a song by Yael Naim in English which moved me so deeply that it made me cry... The album practically made itself, and all under the talented and benevolent leadership of Erick Benzi, without whom none of this would have been possible."


Side 1
01 A cache-cache
02 Dors mon ange
03 Personne d'autre
04 Un seul geste
05 You're My Home
06 Seras-tu là ?

Side 2
01 Quel dommage
02 Train spécial
03 Brumes
04 Trois petits tours
05 Le large
06 Un mal qui fait du bien

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it