Sonny Rollins - Volume 2


Blue Note



Product No.:
ABLU 76487
UPC: 602547476487
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Sonny Rollins, Vol. 2 brought together some of the greatest players of the post-bop era. In addition to Rollins, it featured Art Blakey on drums, Horace Silver and Thelonious Monk on piano, Paul Chambers on bass, and J.J. Johnson on trombone. This classic record is a must-have for any jazz lover.

J.J. Johnson shared the front line with his tenor master for this exceptional session that features a unique reworking of "Poor Butterfly" and a great original "Why Don't I." Horace Silver is the pianist, but Thelonious Monk replaces him on "Reflections" and both pianists alternate throughout a stunning version of "Misterioso."

Recorded in 1957.

Art Blakey, drums
Paul Chambers, bass
J.J. Johnson, trombone
Thelonious Monk, piano
Sonny Rollins, sax (tenor)
Horace Silver, piano

1. Why Don’t I
2. Wail March
3. Miserioso
4. Reflections
5. You Stepped Out Of A Dream
6. Poor Butterfly

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it