Billie Holiday - Lady In Satin





Product No.:
ACOL 52215
UPC: 888750752215
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

120-gram single LP reissue

Lady in Satin was released in 1958 on Columbia Records, catalogue CL 1157 in mono and CS 8048 in stereo. It is the penultimate album completed by the singer and released in her lifetime (her final album, Billie Holiday, being recorded in March 1959 and released just after her death).

The song material for Lady in Satin derived from the usual sources for Holiday in her three decade career, that of the Great American Songbook of classic pop. Unlike the bulk of Holiday’s recordings, rather than in the setting of a jazz combo Holiday returns to the backdrop of full orchestral arrangements as done during her Decca years, this time in the contemporary vein of Frank Sinatra or Ella Fitzgerald on her Songbooks series. The album consists of songs Holiday had never recorded before.

Side 1
1. I’m A Fool to Want You
2. For Heaven’s Sake
3. You Don’t Know What Love Is
4. I Get Along Without You Very Well
5. For All We Know
6. Violets for Your Furs

Side 2
7. You’ve Changed
8. It’s Easy To Remember
9. But Beautiful
10. Glad to Be Unhappy
11. I’ll Be Around

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it