Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Various Artists - Closer To The Music

 (Volume 5)


Stockfisch Records



Product No.:
CSFR 4015 SA
EAN: 4013357401525
In Stock

Hybrid Multichannel SACD

Hybrid Multichannel SACD
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Hybrid Stereo SACD
Volume 4

Hybrid Stereo SACD
Volume 1

Hybrid Stereo SACD
Volume 3

Hybrid SACD plays in both CD and SACD players, as well as all SACD-compatible DVD players

Just as its four predecessors did, the compilation Closer To The Music Vol.5 provides an aural overview of the latest and the forthcoming Stockfisch productions — this time for 2015. More than 79 minutes of unusual recordings and fascinating music. Starting off with introductions to the soon-to-be-released albums:

The Norwegian singer/songwriter/guitarist Kerstin Blodig presents her debut album on Stockfisch. The recordings took place in a clearing in one of Germany's largest forest areas — in Solling. The rich natural atmosphere — including birdsong and sounds from the vegetation — fits wonderfully to Kerstin's haunting Norwegian songs and soulful acoustic-guitar playing.

Listeners have already had the pleasure of experiencing guitar legend Don Ross as accompanist for Brooke Miller in Northeim, and now he has played in his own solo-CD. This is virtuoso guitar music coupled with a warm voice, including a cover of Sting's "If You Love Somebody."

Stockfisch is particularly proud and happy to welcome the famous American singer-songwriter Carrie Newcomer to the fold. Her rich velvety voice and heartfelt songs captivate audiences world-wide. A further international star was in Northeim: Tony Christie — yes the Tony Christie! He came to the Stockfisch studios together with the musicians from Ranagri to make an album of Irish songs. Tony has strong Irish roots and interprets the songs with his very individual voice supported by wonderful acoustic arrangements.

But recent productions also enrich the sampler Closer To The Music Vol.5:

Naturally Allan Taylor is of course represented with a song song of his last album "All Is One"; the New York songwriter Steve Strauss presents his third Stockfisch album and established popular label stars David Roth and Paul Stephenson let us hear excerpts from their current albums.

A very special part of this compilation are tracks 17 to 19, not just because they come from the the so-called "classical music" genre, but also because of the sound-technical aspect — a true wealth of sonic treasures — which Stockfisch is honored to present. The La Folia Barockorchester played in violin concertos — by Vivaldi and Brescianello. Each instrument was played by only a single player — "closer to the music" par excellence! With friends from The Spirit of Gambo Stockfisch went to Haarlem (NL) and did the very first recording ever of the complete "First Set of Madrigals and Mottets of 5. parts" by Orlando Gibbons. Last and certainly not least is a piece by China's most famous female singer, Son Zuying, whose album we recorded in Bejing. At the recent 57th Annual Grammy Awards (2015) this SACD was nominated in the category "Best Surround Sound Album."


1. We Stood As One - Allan Taylor
2. Acts of War - Steve Strauss
3. Monster - Steve Strauss
4. Fause Fause - Kerstin Blodig
5. Rainbow's Gold - The Greater Good
6. Will You Come Home - David Roth
7. Nights At the Chez - David Roth
8. Simple Thought - Don Ross
9. You Can See Everything - Brooke Miller
10. Windmill Sails - Paul Stephenson
11. Four Extraordinary Days - Carl Cleves & Parissa Bouas
12. Bright To Brighter - David Munyon
13. Sparrow - Carrie Newcomer
14. Silvia's River - Paul O'Brien
15. Strange World - Ranagri
16. Carrickfergus - Ranagri feat. Tony Christie
17. L'Inverno - Largo (Vivaldi) - La Folia Barockorchester
18. The Silver Swan - The Spirit of Gambo feat. C. McFadden
19. A Riverside Town - Jiang Cheng Ji - Song Zuying & China Philharmonic Orchestra

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it