Joan Baez - Blessed Are

 (Record Store Day 2014 Exclusive)





Product No.:
AVAN 65701
UPC: 015707657013
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Gatefold double LP

One of Joan's most audacious albums, a double-LP release featuring nine original tunes reflecting her newfound confidence as a songwriter as well as songs by Lennon-McCartney, Jagger-Richards, Robbie Robertson, Mickey Newbury, Jesse Winchester and Kris Kristofferson! This one went to No. 11 on the charts.

Baez emerged out of the folk music scene in Boston in the late '50s, and three rare tracks recorded by a family friend at Club 47, where she got her start, reveal how fully formed her gifts were from the very first. In the early '60s, Baez helped introduce Bob Dylan to the world, and she remains one of his most significant and sensitive interpreters. Baez's peerless artistry provided her with a platform for her social and political activism. It is why people cared what she thought about militarism, nuclear proliferation, nonviolence and human rights.

Side 1
1. Blessed Are…
2. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
3. The Salt of the Earth
4. Three Horses
5. The Brand New Tennessee Waltz

Side 2
6. Last, Lonely and Wretched
7. Lincoln Freed Me Today (The Slave)
8. Outside the Nashville City Limits
9. San Francisco Mabel Joy
10. When Time Is Stolen

Side 3
11. Heaven Help Us All
12. Angeline
13. Help Me Make It Through the Night
14. Let It Be
15. Put Your Hand in the Hand

Side 4
16. Gabriel and Me
17. Milanese Waltz
18. The Hitchhikers’ Song
19. The 33rd of August
20. Fifteen Months

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it