Groove Note



Product No.:
CGRN 1050 SA
UPC: 660318105035
Back Ordered

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Hybrid Stereo SACD

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Also available on:
45 RPM Vinyl Record
45 RPM Vinyl Record
One-Step Plating 45rpm 180g Limited Numbered Edition Vinyl

Recorded by Michael C. Ross to analog tape

Singapore-based vocalist Vanessa Fernandez, 31, has performed hip-hop (Urban Xchange/Parking Lot Pimp) and been a DJ "Vandetta," or "Miss Vandetta" on Mediacorp Radio's 987FM. Groove Note and ORG reissue producer Ying Tan decided that Fernandez deserved the audiophile recording treatment and so brought her to Ocean Way Recording in Los Angeles in mid-January 2014 to record this album to analog tape in five sessions.

Fernandez covers Marvin Gaye, Bill Withers, Al Green, Curtis Mayfield, Isaac Hayes and others in an album filled with funky grooves provided by a stellar back-up band anchored by bassist Leland Sklar, with session guitarist Tim Pierce (Bruce Springsteen, Bon Jovi, Patti Smith, Joe Cocker, Michael Jackson) drummer Victor Indrizzo (Scott Weiland, Chris Cornell) keyboardist Jim Cox (Lyle Lovett, Mark Knopfler, B.B. King) and others.

The album of audiophile-quality covers of soul and R&B classics from the '70s and '80s was done in an "unplugged" style with acoustic instruments and arrangements used on all of the tracks. Vocals are tremendously dynamic (no compression or limiting used), with superb presence and detail for all other instruments including the drum set.

The album introduces and throws the spotlight on the fantastic voice of the Singaporean vocalist Fernandez. The song selection includes tunes by Marvin Gaye, Curtis Mayfield, Isaac Hayes, Earth Wind & Fire, Bill Withers, Al Green and others.

This is a great group of top LA musicians backing superlative performances by a great new singer!!!

1. I Just Wanna Be With You
2. Be Thankful For What You Got
3. Distant Lover
4. Hard Times
5. That Loving Feeling
6. Simply Beautiful
7. Use Me
8. I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know
9. Cool Cat
10. Here But I’m Gone
11. Be Thankful For What You Got (alternate mix)

(5 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.
Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.