Bruce Springsteen - The Album Collection Volume 1 1973-1984

Bruce Springsteen - The Album Collection Volume 1 1973-1984





Product No.:
ALEG 41514
UPC: 888750141514
In Stock

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 8
Note: 180 Gram

Original Price: $269.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Bruce Springsteen's first seven albums, remastered on LP for the first time!

Newly transferred from the original analogue master tapes

Features the most beloved Springsteen recordings: "Born To Run," "Hungry Heart," "Dancing In The Dark" and "Born In The U.S.A."

Box set features all albums packaged in faithful recreations of original LP sleeves and accompanying book of rare memorabila and photos

"Last Thursday, at the Harvard Square theatre, I saw my rock 'n' roll past flash before my eyes. And I saw something else: I saw rock and roll's future and its name is Bruce Springsteen. And on a night when I needed to feel young, he made me feel like I was hearing music for the very first time." — Jon Landau, The Real Paper, May 22, 1974

For the first time ever, Legacy Recordings is revisiting one of the greatest discographies in rock 'n' roll history: the first seven unforgettable albums recorded and released by Bruce Springsteen for Columbia Records between 1973 and 1984 are remastered and reissued on LP as an exciting new box set. Bruce Springsteen: The Album Collection Vol. 1 1973-1984 features some of the most acclaimed works of the 20th century. Six of these albums placed on Rolling Stone's list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time, five of them were Billboard Top 10 hits and all of them, combined, account for more than 34 million albums shipped in the United States.

The albums include Greetings From Asbury Park, N.J. (1973), The Wild, The Innocent and The E Street Shuffle (1973), Born To Run (1975), Darkness On The Edge Of Town (1978), The River (1980), Nebraska (1982) and Born In The U.S.A. (1984).

The seven albums are recreations of their original packaging and are accompanied by a 60-page book featuring rarely-seen photos, memoriabilia and original press clippings from Springsteen's first decade as a recording artist.

Acclaimed engineer Bob Ludwig, working with Springsteen and longtime engineer Toby Scott, has remastered these albums, all newly transferred from the original analog masters using the Plangent Process playback system.

The story of Bruce Springsteen has long been etched into the firmament of rock and roll. To some, he is the poet of the Jersey shore who wrote complex characters that appealed to the young and the hopeful across the nation (and later, the world). To others, he's a studio perfectionist who tinkered with Dylanesque folk, deep-rooted, intellectually and politically astute rock and soul, and a sense of production grandeur to rival Phil Spector's Wall of Sound.

Some laud him as a brilliant bandleader, turning the sprawling E Street Band (including the outsized musical personalities of guitarist Steven Van Zandt, bassist Garry Tallent, drummer Max Weinberg, keyboardists Roy Bittan and Danny Federici and the Big Man himself, saxophonist Clarence Clemons) into one of the tightest ensembles in rock and roll history, and a recent inductee into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's sidemen category. Still others find him a brilliant if reluctant pop star crafting taut, heavy-hitters tailor-made for FM radio-including "Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)," "Born To Run," "Hungry Heart," "Dancing In The Dark," "Born In The U.S.A.," "Glory Days" and more.

Whoever Springsteen is to you, this comprehensive review of the works that made him a star, spanning from 1973 to 1984, is your chance to discover or rediscover him in a big way. Using the Plangent Process playback system, noted for its ability to correct pitch errors and other distortions in the magnetic tape, this is, hands down, the most detailed take on Springsteen's high-energy studio performances anywhere.

Fans around the world have craved remastered versions of Springsteen's beloved studio albums (including the opening one-two punch of his career in 1973, Greetings From Asbury Park, N.J. and The Wild, The Innocent & The E Street Shuffle, which have not been repressed on CD since the dawn of the format in the early 1980s). That time has finally arrived: The Album Collection Vol. 1 features Springsteen's first seven albums, presented in meticulous recreations of their original packaging and accompanied by a beautiful accompanying book featuring rarely-seen photos, memorabilia and original press clippings.

You've never heard them like this.


Disc 1 Side 1
1. Blinded by the Light
2. Growin' Up (Album Version)
3. Mary Queen of Arkansas
4. Does This Bus Stop at 82nd Street?
5. Lost in the Flood

Disc 1 Side 2
1. The Angel (Album Version)
2. For You (Album Version)
3. Spirit in the Night
4. It's Hard to Be a Saint in the City

Disc 2 Side 1
1. The E Street Shuffle (Album Version)
2. 4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)
3. Kitty's Back (Album Version)
4. Wild Billy's Circus Story (Album Version)

Disc 2 Side 2
1. Incident on 57th Street
2. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
3. New York City Serenade (Album Version)

Disc 3 Side 1
1. Thunder Road (Album Version)
2. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out (Album Version)
3. Night (Album Version)
4. Backstreets (Album Version)

Disc 3 Side 2
1. Born to Run
2. She's the One
3. Meeting Across the River
4. Jungleland (Album Version)

Disc 4 Side 1
1. Badlands (2010 Remastered Version)
2. Adam Raised a Cain (Remastered)
3. Something in the Night (Remastered)
4. Candy's Room (2010 Remastered Version)
5. Racing in the Street (Remastered)

Disc 4 Side 2
1. The Promised Land (2010 Remastered Version)
2. Factory (2010 Remastered Version)
3. Streets of Fire (Remastered)
4. Prove It All Night (2010 Remastered Version)
5. Darkness on the Edge of Town (Remastered)

Disc 5 Side 1
1. The Ties That Bind (Album Version)
2. Sherry Darling (Album Version)
3. Jackson Cage (Album Version)
4. Two Hearts (Album Version)
5. Independence Day (Album Version)

Disc 5 Side 2
1. Hungry Heart (Album Version)
2. Out In the Street
3. Crush on You
4. You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch) (Album Version)
5. I Wanna Marry You (Album Version)
6. The River (Album Version)

Disc 6 Side 1
1. Point Blank (Album Version)
2. Cadillac Ranch (Album Version)
3. I'm a Rocker
4. Fade Away (Album Version)
5. Stolen Car (Album Version)

Disc 6 Side 2
1. Ramrod (Album Version)
2. The Price You Pay (Album Version)
3. Drive All Night (Album Version)
4. Wreck on the Highway

Disc 7 Side 1
1. Nebraska
2. Atlantic City (Album Version)
3. Mansion On the Hill
4. Johnny 99 (Album Version)
5. Highway Patrolman (Album Version)

Disc 7 Side 2
1. State Trooper
2. Used Cars (Album Version)
3. Open All Night (Album Version)
4. My Father's House (Album Version)
5. Reason to Believe

Disc 8 Side 1
1. Born in the U.S.A.
2. Cover Me (Album Version)
3. Darlington County (Album Version)
4. Working on the Highway
5. Downbound Train (Album Version)
6. I'm on Fire

Disc 8 Side 2
1. No Surrender (Album Version)
2. Bobby Jean (Album Version)
3. I'm Goin' Down (Album Version)
4. Glory Days (Album Version)
5. Dancing In the Dark
6. My Hometown (Album Version)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it